We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had to stay here for about 10 days in February due to a family emergency. The atmosphere of this place was absolutely amazing. The staff was so friendly and genuinely concerned for our well-being. I plan on coming back here every time I visit Israel. No doubt you can find places in the city of Jerusalem that are more luxurious but having stayed in 3 other 4 star hotels before coming here, I have to say that atmosphere and great staff are intangibles.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Friendly staff (a rareity in Israel where most people are rude), good location just off Jaffa Road, short walk to old city and near lots of shops. We arrived on wednesday and went for the pub crawl with Asaf which was great fun. Also did the cooking and meal on friday. Big common room with pool table, hammocks, games etc and a good atmosphere, great for meeting people.Comfortable private room with fridge. They also do lots of tours (but check the days beforehand).

Only downside was you have to put the hot water on a timer for 20 mins before you shower (but at least you guaranteed hot water then) and our room was not cleaned or towels changed in 3 nights. But we asked for new ones and got them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron33, Manager at Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear friend. I am glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay in the hostel and you liked our staff.
As a high standard hostel, we provide daily cleaning of all rooms, which includes washing the WC and showers, floors and waste. Changing of sheets & towels is done according to the guests demand. This is part of our policy to narrow down water & electricity wasting.
Thank you for your helpful review and see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Incredible hostel! More than excellent value for the $.
Loved the atmosphere, the location, the staff.
Had an incredible time here, booked tours here, staff very helpful and accomodating.
Best breakfast offered compared to all other hostels we stayed.Professional chef.
Used laundry facility. Would definiteley recommend.Great for families or youth.
Location is perfect.
Staffed 24/7.
Travelled with my grown son and we both loved this hostel!!
Thanks to Nathaniel for a wonderful market tour, please post some Israel recipes, I want to try at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATHE918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great location - 15-20 minute walking distance to Jaffa Gate. 10 min distance to sherut shuttle bus to Tel Aviv. Helping staff. Travel and tour center staff from 9 am to 9 pm. Tours by Abraham is also very good. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hostel, very near the food market, has a great feel to it. Our room was very clean, beds very comfortable, wifi worked and breakfast wasincluded. Although, we didn't take advantage, we noticed they offer many trips and tours. We used the laundry facilities With ease. I would stay again for sure.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Dori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I booked a bed in a dorm there after reading the good reviews and wasn't disappointed at all.
First the location is perfect, halfway between the Old City(10 min walk) and the central bus station (idem).
Second the staff is really great.All of them are very nice and helpful and the reception is open 24h which is very useful.
There is a big kitchen and a huge common area where people can meet, have a drink, play music etc... The atmosphere is very nice, relaxed, and the hostel organizes daily activities such as quizz night or open mic night so you can stay there and have fun. But ut's not a party hostel, meaning you get to sleep without people shouting and drinking everywhere. There are people from all age groups.
Finally the dorms themselves are fine, there is hot water whenever you need it, and the breakfast is included which is great.
I really recommend this hostel for a short or long-term stay in Jerusalem

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ot1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

+
Clean and decent room with affordable price
Atmosphere- comfortable, young, energetic and sociable
Location- very close to light rail station and bus station heading for jaffa gate (by tram 3stops to Damascus gate it takes within 10 minutes)
Common area is very cozy, light amd wide enough.
Free wifi

-
Bathroom is a little bit small and hot shower needs some time
Every facilities is somewhat older and get worn out than picture. So it is not bad but I was slightly disappointed. The bulb in my bath room was gone and my door knob almost come off.
Location- Not in Old Town. It takes only 10minutes by tram however it takes at least 20-25minutes on foot. On sabbath there is no transportation at all! And the way from old city is uphill. (especially from damascus gate) 


Overall
As a hostel, this hostel is very nice. It has clean and cozy room and attractive mood. But don't expect too much seeing the photos. 
Location can be both positive and negative. 
It is not far from old city and sleep quietly without mosque sound. Also it is very close to Ben Yehuda and Hillel street which has a lot of cafe and restaurant
It is not difficult to reach old city, still it is not in old city. Especially on sabbath its location is critical. 
Rating 4 is reasonable for this hostel, however, painful memory that we struggled through uphill road with our big luggage because we arrived in jerusalem on sabbath is the reason for one minus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
651 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
728 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,536 reviews
Hillel 11
#50 of 100 in Jerusalem
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $28 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing