We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want from a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Simple, clean rooms. Friendly, helpful service. Spacious and bright lounge and cafeteria. The breakfast is pretty darn good for a hostel, too. The prices are fair for Jerusalem. The only complaint would be that it can be noisy as it is on a main street, but that is the trade off for being in a location that is handy to all the sights...

A bit of a side note is that another plus is that there is a parking lot next door that is free overnight (although driving in Jerusalem is not recommended - it is a crazy city to navigate - rental cars are handy for driving around other parts of Israel, though)

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DarjaandNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
There are newer reviews for Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed in a 10-dorm bed and I must say the space is more than enough to feel comfortable, even though the bathroom wasn't enough for 10 there're more showers and toilets outside the room. The staff is very, very nice, they give lectures on what to do in Jerusalem and around Israel and they're pretty informative. I loved the breakfast and the location is very suitable: halfway between the Old City and the Bus Station, just a few blocks away from Yehuda haLevi Street and all the nice stores.

I'd totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moteconhuesillero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

A friend and I booked 3 nights in a private room here in May 2011. After a long journey on a sherut to get there from the airport, we asked the reception to just give us our key before payment/giving us the local info so could dump bags & rest etc. which they obligingly did. We arrived around 9am and had booked the previous night so we could check in immediately. If you can afford it I'd recommend doing the same!

The room was basic but clean, but had very narrow single beds, a bit hard but comfy enough. Room had air con, a fridge, cupboard space, sink and en-suite shower which was small but functional. It's a bit noisy in the corridors but not unbearably so.

The common room is the best thing about the hostel, they have a few hammocks, giant bean bags, small bar, big screen on in the evening and a good sized communal kitchen, with a couple of fridges. Israeli breakfast is included. Guests were friendly, of mixed ages and nationalities, it's not a 'youth' hostel at all. The staff clearly love the place and want to help guests out as much as possible. It's a 20 min walk to the old city or you can grab a bus to town/yad vashem etc. from outside.

I'd recommend the Abraham Hostel if you are on a budget and want somewhere, clean, friendly and safe in a pretty good location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. It's an leisurely 20 min walk to the old city and maybe a 30 min walk to East Jerusalem. Busses are just across the street but we chose to walk, and on shabbat (friday night to saturday night) the busses don't run anyway. It is maybe a 10min or less, walk to the sheruts (shared taxi's) that you can catch to Tel Aviv and I'm sure other places. The front desk staff can direct you as it is not marked.

Our room had everything we needed (two single beds, a closet, desk, refrigerator, sink, shower and toilet.) and it was all clean. The shower had a squeegee in it because the shower sprays all over the floor, but that seemed to be in a lot of places in Israel and the West Bank. Not sure what the issue is, but If you know any good shower builders send them to Israel!

I'm not sure if they have AC b/c it was cool enough with the windows open that we didn't need it. However it was quite loud at night. Surprised b/c it was quite as a mouse when we went to bed - the streets where practically empty on shabbat. I was told there is a dance club on the side we were staying on and I could definitely hear it going strong well into the wee hours. Also the walls are a bit thin and we could clearly hear the argument our neighbors were having... lucky for us it was at 6am when we were getting up anyway and not when we were trying to sleep.

Breakfast is not served until 8am. I thought that was rather late. As a tourist I like to get up and out early. But if they were the same people who were in the night club at 3am I shouldn't be surprised they weren't up earlier :) Breakfast was just fine (cereal, bread, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, etc.) but no meat or eggs. They request you wash your dishes and there is a communal feel to the place. The breakfast room, with long shared tables, also doubles as a day room ample for various groups to socialize or plan the next part of your trip. There is also a nice quite room with couches and cushions. I didn't see any outside space (ie balconies or patios, etc). The hostel has a young feel to it but attracts people of all ages.

Before check-in we were permitted to store our bags in a locked closet. At the end of our visit, after checking out, we were also permitted to store our bags for another day as we were just going on a day trip and didn't want to lug them around. This was much appreciated.

The free walking tour they provide is actually Sandeman's New Jerusalem Free Tour http://www.newjerusalemtours.com/daily-tours/new-jerusalem-free-tour.html It is free to anyone who shows up at Jaffa gate for the tour, and you don't have to be staying at the hostel. As a customer at the hostel they will walk you to Jaffa gate. Not a bad deal (it's free) if you don't know where Jaffa gate is and you want to leave then.

There are several comments on here about the friendly staff. I found one of the volunteers to be rather friendly but otherwise the staff seemed rather aloof and brash. They were however efficient and that was good enough. From people I spoke to while there (who stayed in other places), Abraham hostel seems to be one of the best deals around. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side without the night club
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very simple, but lovely place. The people who works there really trying to make your stay as much pleasant as possible. The rooms are clean. The location is very convenient: 10 min to Old City, 10 min to bus station, 3 min to big market, 5 min to restaurant quarter. You can find cheaper or with lager rooms, but you can't find more friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry_Erokhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Abraham Hostel is a great place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Room was comfortable and you cant beat the location. I will definitly stay here again. thanks for making my stay in Jerusalem so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have stayed in these very good hostel for 2 nights than I moved to a hostel in the old city for another 2 nights.I should confess this was a totally bad idea since getting to museums or neighbourhoods out of the old city like Yad Vashem,Israeli Museum,Mehane Yehuda,Knesset and Ben Yehuda District is not that conveniene from the old city. But getting to old city and the museums that are out of the old city from the Abraham Hostel and back is quiet easier. The very busy bus stop right front of the hostel to take you anywhere you want with a public bus in maximum 15 minutes.
So I think it is not necessary to stay in old city to see the sights in the old city.Just after 10 (including waiting the bus) minutes bus ride for 6 Shekel from Abraham Hostel than you are in Jaffa Gate and the Old City.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teomete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
674 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 101 in Jerusalem
610 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,149 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,500 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Ha-Nevi'im | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $23 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Biblical hospitality to our time. We, the staff & owners of Abraham Hostels, created our dream hostel in Jerusalem to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows for easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahane Yehuda Market. There are plenty of public transportation options right outside to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offers daily activities and tours in our ongoing effort to encourage travelers to make new friends and new experiences. Whether it's our hostel bar, traveler's information center or chill-out rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. For those traveling outside Jerusalem there is a special discount when staying in Abraham Hostel Tel Aviv and the Fauzi Azar Inn in Nazreth, as well as special shuttle service between all three branches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing