We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value, good location, not a hotel, just so you know!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Charles Hospice
Ranked #17 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed here in late September. Provided you are comfortable walking, and you need to be in Jerusalem, the location is very good. You can be in the old city in 20 minutes uphill. The complex has a certain charm to it and while old is well maintained. A huge number of volunteers work long hours for nothing other than their food and accommodation, cleaning rooms and working in the kitchen etc. It is very clean and well serviced.
The rooms are generally spacious with shower and toilet en suite. It is obviously not a hotel and you don't pay hotel prices. At the same time small things like a bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo could be provided and are not. There is no air conditioning but there was generally a nice breeze anyway while I was there. Guests need three keys to get through all the doors, this is awkward and one would think dangerous as they can be so easily lost. Time for a swipe card system! Some of the rooms are over a kindergarten which means extra child proof gates and also noise in the mornings.
They seem to be somewhat inflexible on late night arrival and departure times. This is odd given how many international flights arrive and depart in the middle of the night. But is the way of operating rather than the personnel that are inflexible, in fairness. The sisters themselves are quite friendly, as one would expect. As a base for being out and about all the time it is to be considered as a reasonably roofed option.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOGITRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

Cracking beds,a Spartan bathroom, a dwarfs size standing shower, no soaps, plastic flowers – this was our welcome to our hospis in the German Colony in Jerusalem.

Used to posh stile hotels, We expected nothing when we looked for something different this time. And indeed it was different.

However the St Charles Hospis was an adventure.

Located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods of Jerusalem, the hospis is just a part of a large Church compound. Gardens and groves and the impressive old building gets you back to 19th century lodging. The nuns who runs the place are extremely nice and hospitable. We missed the weekend breakfast on the Shabat as all food is off as of 9 a.m, but when we entered the kitchen begging for 2 cups of coffee , yes was the answer and we were the happiest.

We booked a one night stay and we wre not so sure we could do another. But if one wants to experience Jerusalem differently, this hospis is one of the ways.

88 euro per night including breakfast. Cash. We believe it is a good value for money. But do come with a romantic mood, an open heart and a love to this internal city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank move_israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Für die bessere Aussicht 2. oder 3. Stock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ushi-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besonders schön sind die Zimmer mit Blick in den wundervollen Garten mit Palmen, Kakteen, Rosen, Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s0njajaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer wenn möglich zum Klostergarten hinaus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,516 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,558 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
629 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hospice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hospice

Address: 12 Lloyd George | German Colony, Jerusalem 9311012, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
St. Charles Hospice Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing