We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for exploring Jerusalem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colony Suites
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in The Colony for 5 days in November and had a great time. The apartment is spacious and very well maintained. It is very close to Emek Refaim which is a lively area which has lots of restaurants and shops. It's about a half hour walk to the Old City but a quick taxi ride away. The apartment was very reasonably priced compared to the very expensive hotels in Jerusalem and you have the added bonus of being able to be completely self sufficient. Linda is also a pleasure to deal with and always responded very quickly to requests or questions. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the things we often have trouble finding at an affordable price is an apartment that is comfortable for our family of four with two kids who don't want to share a bed. The Colony Suites Blue Apartment is a great solution to that problem. The apartment is on a side street right off the main street of German Colony (Efek Rafaim). This means you are close to the restaurants and shops but we never had any trouble with noise. The bedroom has a comfortable bed while the living room has two fold out beds, a chair that turns into s single and a couch that turns into a double. The kitchen is basic but when we are traveling we are not interested in cooking, just being able to make tea in the morning (and there was plenty of tea provided, thanks Linda) and the like. Having a washing machine was a great bonus. You are minutes from the old city by bus and can even walk. We had a car and Linda arranged a parking space for us which was great. Linda was not around the day we arrived but arranged for the apartment owner to meet us. We called on our way into Jerusalem and he was there when we arrived. Check in was simple and quick as was check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The manager Linda was very professional and looked after us from the time when arranged the booking over the internet, on the day we arrived from the airport,during our stay and on the day we departed.She does not live on the property which is a block of about 5 apartments but is nearby and responds quickly.
The apartment is very conveniently located and you can walk to the Old City and local points of interest easily. It is clean and functional which is what we like and is better value than a hotel room.
We totally endorse the comments made in the other reviews that have been posted.

The Surprise was the beautiful walking/recreation track and area only 100 metres away which was the old railway line which has been converted into a bike track, walking track, meeting place for families and offers a pleasant change from the concrete traditional street scape.

Suggestions: Take some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as it can be a little noisy when the restaurants close sometimes, get a local coupon book for the restaurants nearby and you will generally save 10%, walk the local area first up and discover the beautiful areas.A car parking space may be available if you hire a car if you ask Linda.

Overall we felt very comfortable and secure during our 3 week stay and will rent the same room again when we next return to Jerusalem.

Enjoy your stay........you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Blue Room Apartment on the second floor had a nice sunny aspect to the street while the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The apartment was in excellent condition and very fully equipped. Location was terrific-- close proximity to Emek Rephaim, with parking generally available. Management was very quick in response to any requests

Room Tip: just decide if the second bedroom is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 960elliottp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and well maintained apartment in a great location for exploring Jerusalem. There are tons of places to eat nearby (including a couple open on Shabbat) andits walkable to the old City and a short cab ride to city center. Has air conditioning and a washing machine too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were extremely happy with our apartment, which was very well equipped and immaculately clean. We stayed with our children, for a week and we thoroughly enjoyed the area - lovely shops, wonderful cafes, supermarket and fabulous felafel just around the corner. We felt close enough to the hub of Jerusalem, without being right in it. The apartment was exceptionally comfortable and spacious and good value for money. We would not hesitate to recommend it and will definitely stay there again. Thank you Linda for a great stay in a magical city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at Colony Suites was excellent. It is in a wonderful location, is clean and quiet and has everything that is needed for a comfortable stay. There is a lovely path behind the property that leads near the Old City. Linda was helpful with check-in and check-out. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#6 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
A Little House in Bakah
#34 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Suites

Property: The Colony Suites
Address: Emek Refaim | German Colony, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Suites are stylish, self-contained holiday apartments for short term accommodation in the heart of the German colony Jerusalem. Suitable for singles and families ranging from a brief visit to a longer stay. Comfortable and elegant, the apartments are designed for maximum comfort. Nestled between the old and new parts of the capital, the German Colony is the most charming area in Jerusalem. Built by the German Templars in the 1870's, the area is known for its unique architecture and cafe culture. The colony is close to the major tourist sites (walking distance to the old city) and the host of several local attractions. There is no better location than Colony Suites, around the corner from the post-office, bank, supermarket, chemist, cafes and public pool and gym. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing