We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven from great to poor”
Review of Amigo Emil

Amigo Emil
Ranked #32 of 727 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In Jerusalem Old City from New Gate down
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uneven from great to poor”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Overall an enjoyable place with good, tasty menues well worth their moderate price.
A good suggestion for quick service and well cooked food: Go there a few hours in advance if you can, reserve a table and make your menu choices ahead of time and you'll be guaranteed fresh and efficiently cooked menues!
While food, atmosphere and value are good, the service could take some improvement. In spite of being a group that ran up quite a bill, ordered some wine and extra drinks we were treated as if we were somewhat of a nuisance, sat too long etc. On top it was a cold evening and the whole front of the restaurant was kept open, cold winds blew in and we were beginning to feel chilly.
A little more attention to these service details would make a potentially good place a lot better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    134
    26
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Finest fish with rice!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went there on the evening (about 5.30 pm) to eat just something and were pleased with the main course of a very good fish with an extremely tasty rice! Service simple, yet nice and good atmosphere right in Via Dolorosa. A good choice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shocking treatment”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were on tour in Jerusalem and were wheeled into this restaurant by our guide, at 3pm, for lunch. I was ill and required nothing more than a little boiled rice. They grudgingly provided it and then charged us $6 of a few spoonfuls of plain rice.

There was a large group, so they got plenty business, but their fury at such a request from a person trapped on a tour and unable to order a proper meal means we would not recommend them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exilelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean restaurant, but does not deserve top pick in Lonely planet guide”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I ate here on my first night of visiting Jerusalem, solely on the suggestion of top pick by Lonely planet guide and sadly it does not deserve such a billing. Do not get me wrong this is a pleasant enough place to eat and a step up in class from the surrounding places to eat with their plastic tables. Though there is a supermarket outside (as only the streets of the old city can have) and there was a man selling kitchen rolls, happily spitting away
The reality is it is hard to judge value for money where everything in Israel seems so expensive, but the food was good, with a limited amount of local type food, but lots of western style instead.
Bit disappointing to get chips with my kebab, which seemed to be a traditional enough dish and salad. The humus I had as a starter was nice enough, but I found much better elsewhere in the city, with more traditional styles
My complaint is that this is too westernized, with a table of American teenagers, having burger and pasta! It is not this restaurants thought that Lonely planet gave it such a top billing, but you will be disappointed if you go there imagining you will be getting something traditional

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very helpful with a large group”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Though it wasn't very easy to communicate on the phone from England they gave me their email address (Emilios Bajjali <emilbajjali@gmail.com>), and from then on it was very simple. They put on a good spread at a good price - it was standard fare, but done well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigo Emil also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Amigo Emil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing