We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bulghourji

Bulghourji
Ranked #202 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Armenian Quarter, Old City - Jerusalem
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you want a different dining experience try this restaurant in the Armenian Quarter. I was with a party and the restaurant was full of other parties so whether you'd get a meal if you were just a few people I don't know. But it's well worth a try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank McKenzie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    14
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What exactly is armenian?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you are wating for something that is culturally interesting, please don't read the name of the restaurant "armenian restaurant" rather think that you are in the middle east and will eat exactly the same dishes than you ate all around in the arab or jewish oriental restaurant. And if you expect an intimate restaurant as it may look like from outside, the place is huge and full with tourist groups.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineSHerzlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

First Impressions: To reach Bulghourji, enter through Jaffa Gate and head NE along the Omar Ben el-Hatab Road and take the first right onto the Armenian Orthodox Patriarchate Street. The restaurant should be on your right side, near St. James Street. Still reeling from the bad experience we had at another restaurant down the street the day before, we chanced upon this place and decided to try it out. (We reckon we can't be that unlucky twice.) Glad we did. Past the unassuming doors, the guest is greeted by a renovated warehouse, complete with high-arched ceilings and beige rough-hewn stonework (again, typical architectural element of the area). At the back, there's a covered outdoor patio and an open bar. Offering your traditional Armenian fare with a Jerusalem twist, it is nevertheless a non-kosher restaurant.

PROS: Its location is its best asset, easy to find in the middle of the Armenian Quarter's busiest street. The food was tasty and plentiful. Although the hummus was average, I loved the Feta-filled bourekas and the fried koubehs. This was closely followed by the mixed BBQ grill of shish-taouk, Armenian kebab and lamb cutlets. Finally, the delightful meal was topped by walnut-filled baklava, sweetened with syrup (not honey?). I could still taste the cinnamon and cloves. Yumm! Open on Shabbat.

CONS: Ranging from £10 for the chicken schnitzel to £17 for the Madagascar steak, it is slightly on the moderately expensive side. Mind you, service can be spotty and is the first to suffer when the restaurant becomes full. Perhaps because we were a tour group, our waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Contrast that to the family of 3 next to us who had to patiently wait for half-hour for their meals.

Verdict: Worth a visit. I would not go as far as to declare it the best in Jerusalem, but surely one of the best in the Armenian Quarter. Recommended. Grade A-minus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food in a fascinating location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant after weaving our way through the shopping streets of the Palestinian and Armenian Quarters. The food was delicious - lovely meze with lamb and chicken. We sat out in the covered courtyard which was very pretty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TessBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
670 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,735 helpful votes
“Great Food and Better Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a great hidden gem in the Armenian quarter. As a large group we took over the middle room which is beautiful and the site of the former mill. The food was plentiful and value for money (NIS80 for 10 mezze starter and main course of meats,vegetables and of course bulgour wheat) followed by baklava and coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulghourji also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Bulghourji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing