We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, food mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bulghourji

Bulghourji
Ranked #202 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Armenian Quarter, Old City - Jerusalem
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Poor service, food mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This restaurant is right near the Tower of David where we were going for the Night Spectacular show. Our hotel made our reservation. We we arrived at the restaurant they had no record of it & made a big deal in a totally empty restaurant. After seating us we ordered drinks. My wine showed up, but not the beer or water. We asked a couple of timse & then it finally arrived. We ordered our appetizer at the same time as the drinks & a little later ordered our entrees. My daughter's meal came well before the hummus & the appetizer of burekas (the best we had on the trip). I said something to the waiter & he shrugged his shoulders. My lamb kebab was meatballs not pieces of lamb - a big disappointment. The waiter never returned to ask if we wanted additonal drinks or anything. We asked for our check & he insisted we wait for a free desert - a blt too late for a better tip. The baklava was tasty though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    14
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Armenian Hideaway in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a local feel, delicious dinner in this charming restaurant near the Jaffa gate in the Armenian quarter. Check out the photos. The salad was large enough to share and the pasta with pesto was delicious. Incidentally, it was open on Shabat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea48098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really good service and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had lunch here as a group during a tour. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the surroundings are delightful. We all had the same food, but there was a wide range of mezze to start with which gave some choice. The coffee was strong and Arabic. We noticed a large Chinese group in the restaurant whose leader was rather demanding and loud, but the manager was dealing very patiently with her, so we were very impressed and certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy to find and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had this restaurant suggested to us, but I can't remember who. It might have been just someone on the street that we asked. It was later in the evening and everything was closed for Rosh Hashanah, so we were glad to find this one restaurant open. The atmosphere was great!! We sat outside in the back and relaxed on the couch-like seats they had. The food we really good. It was a great way to spend our last night in Jerusalem. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amazington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rescue on Yom Kippur - Good food, excellent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Devasted on Yom Kippur we ran into Bulghourji and had a great time with an excellent service. Good choice for a decent dinner. The starters are great. I chose Armenian kebap as the main dish. The outside seating is awesome. As a German I can recommend the Palestinian beer Taybeh. Armenian strong coffee is a good closure. I'll come back and not only on Fridays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OGU-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulghourji also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Bulghourji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing