We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in Leonardo hotel for 5 nights during our family vocation trip to Jerusalem. The location of the hotel is not the best, but certainly convenient. It is walking distance to the Damascus gate. And walking distance to the city hall, ben yehuda.,ben hillel str. However it is rather far from King David street region, which is enjoyable to walk in the evening. There is a tram (light rail) stop very close to the hotel, so the location is good. The hotel is located in the beginning of muslim part of the city, but very close to Mea Shearim district(famous residential district of ultra orthodox Jews).Every evening we walked through part of Mea Shearim returning to the hotel from Jaffa road. These walks were one of the best experience of the spirit of Jerusalem. Especially on Friday evening. It was really amazing to see all those traditions alive! So we benefited a lot from the location of the hotel)).
The rooms are not new but clean and well kept. The wardrobe in our room was the only one piece of furniture that was really showing its respectful age. The bathroom furniture and equipment was also not new, but clean, functioning, and looks nice.
Upon check in we received upgrade to the room on the 8th floor with balcony. So it was nice. In the room we found complimentary bottle of Israel vine and cookies. Also there are tea coffee making facilities in the room. There was no mini bar, but there was room service.
The breakfast buffet was very good. Excellent selection of hot and cold options. There was no meat products in breakfast selection, but we did not care since we are vegetarians. This was the first hotel where there was pizza for breakfast! Great idea! On Saturday there are no cooked in your presence dishes, but the selection itself if much more diverse on Saturday then on the other days.
Only on the last night of our stay we discovered that the bar downstairs is excellent! The prices for beer there are better than in the city and beer is served with nice selection of salty treats.
During check out the reception staff gave us really bad advise about transportation to the airport. He said that it is not safe to use Nasher service at night, and that we should order a taxi through him at that same moment to have a better price. We used Nasher despite his advise and everything was great. So Nasher is SAFE to use at night!!!
One more remark: in the hallway on the 8th floor strange service door was left open by the staff very often. The view from that door was terrible(photo included). It ruined whole first impression about the hotel. But the rest of the hotel areas were nice.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Leonardo Jerusalem and would return there again with great pleasure.

Room Tip: rooms that do not face the road are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for several days with our Pilgrim Tour group. The service was good, and the hotel amenities were too. A nice bar area for a coffee or a drink, adjacent to the free internet access computers. We had good and abundant food in the breakfast and dinner buffets, but expect a crush of people at all times. We went for a walk around the block and there is nothing nearby except a couple. of other hotels.

Room Tip: Lots of challenge getting the elevator... a room on a lower floor a good idea if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had the best time the hotel is welcoming freindley and nice clen rooms great service great location great food. breakfast is out of this world the bar in the is freindley the staff are so good and give the best service in town. make a big different when you are in new town.

leonardo jerusalem close to the kotel and old city. it seems to me that we chose the wright hotel

i would recomend to any one that would like to visit jerusalem.spa is new and nice as well

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here with a tour group. I had read the reviews before coming and was glad to see they lived up to my expectations and then some. We were personally greeted by the manager who informed us of all the amenities of the Hotel INCLUDING free phone calls home to the US, and 1 free hour of internet use per day. This is an upscale hotel with great service. Clean and quite comfortable. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were all plentiful and delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mscleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly , extra attention and very helpfully
They took care my diet needs and I was amazed from the unique service free international call abroad including mobile phones to the states
The also have free WiFi from the lobby
The food is very tasty
I really recomand this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titzel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights with a tour group. A high proportion of the guests were in tour groups. The hotel has a good location: it is about 10 minutes downhill walk to the Damascus gate, very close to the Anglican Cathedral and also handy for the Garden Tomb. Some rooms may suffer noise from a main road but our 4th floor room looked out towards the Cathedral and was quiet. the room was of a good size, had comfortable twin beds, a bathroom wth sink, bath and shower and a separate toilet. All was clean with plenty of toiletries and hot water. Lighting was poor for reading. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided.

Lifts are adequate most of the time but on the sabbath one is programmed to stop at every floor and then large groups can create queues. The reception area is very large which is useful with a lot of groups around. The restaurant is buffet style for all meals and is also large. It gets very busy at times but there is a large overflow side room where our group often ate and was quieter. Friday evening meal tends to be particularly busy with families coming to the hotel to eat. There was a good range of food available at breakfact and dinner and all seemed to be fresh. My one dislike was that the breakfast orange juice was very dilute.Service was a weak point - tables in the restaurant were not cleared quickly and the waiter often arrived to take a drinks order at dinner when we were well into our meal. One could also wait a while at reception. In contrast the room staff seemed good - for example, extra pillows arrived within 10 minutes of our request.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charnwood-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The overall experience was average. The furnishing are quite outdated and the rooms very small. Bath toiletries are restricted to absolutely minimal( absolutely have your own with you). Service is very basic. There is a very "mass" approach on almost everything. Though it was a good choice compared to the money spent. It was far from the shopping- restaurants area.

Room Tip: Only club rooms( higher floors) are somewhat better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna-Stelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,177 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,580 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $142 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing