We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Jerusalem Hotel near Old City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
raanana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jerusalem Hotel near Old City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent a weekend with my wife at this Jerusalem Hotel. Room was adequate and clean, Comfortable bed and pillow, good shower and bath. Nice TV channel selection. Our specific room on the 3rd floor had no view.
We were on full board and food was plentiful, varied but simplistic. Good service.
Walking distance to the old city (Damascus Gate) and around the corner from the fantastic new and convenient light railway.
Underground parking (at 20 NIS a night). Right next to other hotels sharing same driving lot area so it could get very busy and crowded at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    396
    196
    75
    45
See reviews for
315
278
61
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room - spacious with separate bathroom and toilet, which was a big plus. Although basically clean, the counter tops in room had not been wiped with glass stains and sticky residue remaining. Although the hotel looks really flashy from the outside, the rooms have been renovated with a lack of attention to details, eg the floor boards had gaps.

The breakfasts were amazing - a huge buffet of hot and cold that would satisfy anyone (except carnivores). Fish, dairy, vegetable, fruit, cereals, bread, pastries and many delicacies in shot style glasses prepared daily. You could get through the day on breakfast at this hotel.

Great location, walking distance to the old walled city, Damascus and Jaffa Gates. Also short walk to the light rail which is reasonably priced and frequent.

However good the hotel sounds, there were some drawbacks worth mentioning. Firstly, guests receive only 30 minutes of free wireless. Every other hotel we stayed in four countries, provided unlimited free wireless. You need to purchase half hour blocks after utilising your free half hour - and there is no carry over - use it or lose it.

The reception staff were not at all customer-focussed and made you feel they were doing you a favour. And no point standing in a queue, people just barge in and the staff serve them before others that have been waiting patiently for some time.

The bar staff were friendly enough, however it at times took longer than acceptable to receive your orders.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Leonardo Jerusalem we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Thank you
Lior gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed there , first of all , in the check-in nobody pay atention to you , also on the site i made my reservation they said one price, and when i got there , the price was diferent and nobody care about that. After they treated me so bad on the loby , i went up to my roon ( i asked them one double bed and they called me to confirm that was OK ) my roon had 2 singles bed ... but i didnt wanted to fight again so i didnt said anything.
There was no towels on the room !!! so i called and they told me they will send , but after 30 minutes nothing.. i called again and she told me in a very bad tone , that i have to wait.. may be for one more hour to get a towel !!! i wanted to take shower and go down to have dinner,, instead i waited..after one hour they gave me one towel... i dont think this is a service for a 4 star hotel ,. im never coming back to Leonardo Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anaeoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed for one night at this hotel and we recommend you not to go here. the service was horrible and insulting. the counter man at the reception was very rude and not willing to help. two and a half hours (!!) after check in time, the room wasn't ready and we had to wait for some time before getting our room (without any compensation of course).
even after getting the room, it was not ready - no towels, no soap, not clean (the review paper of the guests before us was still there...). the food and coffee at the lobby was not fresh. the shower head was broken.
the elevators worked very slow and the doors often closed on people.

Room Tip: just choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
As all other Leonardo Hotels we are obligated to provide a high level of service and standards as we do now.
With regard to issues you mention on your review, we apologize again and we are sure that it was a singular mistake as you can see from other guest’s reviews.
I would like to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service and a feedback as yours allows us to improve on that.

Yours sincerely
Lior Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel, in a strip of hotels out of easy walking distance from the old city, was probably an excellent pick in it's day, but the facilities have faded and the unhelpful staff make it a poor choice when traveling to Jerusalem. Despite booking a 'non smoking' room, we tried several very smokey rooms before finally settling on a 'very recently smoked in, but covered up by aerosol spray' room. The gym is not open on Shabat (of course) but also not on weekends, and was under construction leaving it almost useless. The A/C did not work during our entire visit. Nothing about this hotel was worth the price paid. There are much better choices in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
As all other Leonardo Hotels we are obligated to provide a high level of service and standards as we do now.
As always, we are trying to improve ourselves and one of the improvements is the face-lifting of hotel
During your stay, you have experienced a small interference which cause you anything but an enjoyable vacation, and once again, we sorry for that.
With regard to other issues you mention on your review, we apologize again and we are sure that it was a singular mistake as you can see from other guest’s reviews.
I would like to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service and a feedback as yours allows us to improve on that.

Yours sincerely
Lior Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went to Israel with a group all over when we came to Leonardo Jrusalem we had a very impressing welcome by the group manger she was lovely smiling kind and professional. The location is great the food was superb the rooms are fine and clean and the service is freindly we had a very good time.

Room Tip: higher floor has great blcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am staying at the Leonardo jerusalem hotel. It is very nice surprise for me and my family
The rooms are well maintained, the food is very tasty, the pool is good for families and couples. The location is very good to tour at the old city and the new train is just nearby the hotel
I will certainly will come again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyalmadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#19 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#4 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing