We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bus Tour/Package Hotel - not good for independent travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
115 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bus Tour/Package Hotel - not good for independent travelers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel, in a strip of hotels out of easy walking distance from the old city, was probably an excellent pick in it's day, but the facilities have faded and the unhelpful staff make it a poor choice when traveling to Jerusalem. Despite booking a 'non smoking' room, we tried several very smokey rooms before finally settling on a 'very recently smoked in, but covered up by aerosol spray' room. The gym is not open on Shabat (of course) but also not on weekends, and was under construction leaving it almost useless. The A/C did not work during our entire visit. Nothing about this hotel was worth the price paid. There are much better choices in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
As all other Leonardo Hotels we are obligated to provide a high level of service and standards as we do now.
As always, we are trying to improve ourselves and one of the improvements is the face-lifting of hotel
During your stay, you have experienced a small interference which cause you anything but an enjoyable vacation, and once again, we sorry for that.
With regard to other issues you mention on your review, we apologize again and we are sure that it was a singular mistake as you can see from other guest’s reviews.
I would like to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service and a feedback as yours allows us to improve on that.

Yours sincerely
Lior Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    438
    216
    80
    60
See reviews for
363
316
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went to Israel with a group all over when we came to Leonardo Jrusalem we had a very impressing welcome by the group manger she was lovely smiling kind and professional. The location is great the food was superb the rooms are fine and clean and the service is freindly we had a very good time.

Room Tip: higher floor has great blcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am staying at the Leonardo jerusalem hotel. It is very nice surprise for me and my family
The rooms are well maintained, the food is very tasty, the pool is good for families and couples. The location is very good to tour at the old city and the new train is just nearby the hotel
I will certainly will come again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyalmadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Leonardo Hotel in Jersusalem: couple with 3 kids, we took two connected rooms. The good thing that I may say about the hotel is it's location - 3 minutes to electric train and 10 minutes by feet to the Old City.
The pool was very small and no sauna at all - a disappointment for my man, the rooms were not bad at all but not clean enough, the service wasn't always on the same level - certainly worse than I expected for the money we spent.
The same re restaurants - sometimes better, sometimes worse. The kids and my man were not excited with the food but satisfied. I am vegiterian and although I paid for full pension I sat with my family but went to eat outside...
Next time will look for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaPorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hod hasharon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Leonardo Hotel in Jerusalem this morning and was surprised to find a cute hotel with excellent service!!!!
I was looking hotel with Reasonable price to Spend a weekend with the kids during Festival of Lights and I was glad to find a charming hotel with clean rooms and courteous service and most importantly the best breakfast in town

Room Tip: Check kids menu meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Very clean
Very good service
Nice hotel
Rooms a bit small, but the rooms were very comfortable and clean, suitable for families and individuals, the location a bit far from the center but still was very worthwhile!
The hotel staff was great, we enjoyed very highly recommended to anyone who comes to Jerusalem.
Sure i will be again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobishl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have to go with the opinion of many:bad cleaning, the problem seems to be bad management rather than the cleaning personal itself. Bad management also in reception area. I did this kind of job myself for many years and hardly ever saw such confusion, lack of professionalism. Personal pretty unqualified. Only few are friendly, most of them do not seem to know even the basic rules of courtesy. However, good location. 30min free wifi, then it becomes expensive. Ridiculous that a 4 star hotel in such a city and in this day and age does not even offer free wifi. Customer sadisfaction doesn't seem to come very high on the priority list f this hotel. We also stayed at the leonardo hotel in Tiberias, lovely personal and atmosphere unlike their sister hotel in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: The 8th floor s nice. Before your stay insist with the hotel on the good cleaning of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing