We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel without atmosphere. Big cavernous lobby. Not a lot going for it. Didn't like the position of the hotel, in a bit of a no man's land, but handy to catch the little train that runs through the heart of Jerusalem. Breakfasts were good. Cleaning staff looked very worried all the time. Got a feeling it wasn't a happy place. Instead of restaurant being welcoming, we seemed to be treated with suspicion! (Foreign visitors receive a letter offering a discount on evening meal which includes a bottle of wine. I had to return to bedroom in order to produce standard letter before being allowed into dining room. Also wine was not volunteered by staff, but eventually we managed to find someone to provide us with some.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our tour group spent 4 nights at this hotel. It has 400 rooms, which seemed to be filled primarily by other tour groups, The huge lobby teems with ever-changing mobs of people being disgorged from busses, or standing around for their bus (very little lobby furniture to sit on). People push and shove to get on the overworked and slow elevators. Service is slow and negligent, seemingly provided by harried and poorly supervised workers. Our first room had one bed instead of the two we requested. The second room had a toilet that leaked and wet the floor when used. The third room was passable. We waited 45 minutes for more towels. The beds had new mattresses, but the sheets were thin and old, and didn't tuck under the mattress, so sleepers got tangled in the sheets. Some towels were torn. There was only one electric outlet in the entire room. No ATM in the hotel.Two coin-operated computers in the lobby that only worked intermittently. Marginally safe neighborhood after dark. Had to get a new key every day because the key that worked in the am didn't work in the pm. Never again!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms on the first floor facing the pool. In cooler months before the pool is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After traveling across Europe, South America, and the US, the Leonardo Hotel provided amazing customer service and ease in making the reservation. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by their staff who had great customer service with everything from settling in, parking, house keeping, dining, etc.
I was very happy with the breakfast service, turn down service, the hygiene and upkeep of the facility, and the room service. I stayed on the 8th floor and had a balcony view which was amazing. The rooms were well kept, well lit and had a modern design. The hotel was a rare gem to find in Jerusalem and I highly recommend the Leonardo Hotel for business and personal travels in Israel.

Room Tip: Balcony views are amazing, highly recommend a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent 6 nights at the Leonardo. Location is ok. It is near the new railway. Note this use to be the Novotel so can drivers and others often did not know the location and confused it with the Leonardo Plaza. It is a 10 minute walk to the Demascus Gate. Sevice is not very good- I asked for a wakeup call the first night and never got one. 2 others in the group did not get one either so use a back up - though it was fine the rest of the week. There is one iron per floor. I never experienced this before and had to wait. The bar closes early and the service there is non existent. Bar staff don't come to you and you have to follow up several times. They are more interested in their phones than customers. Accessing the Internet (additional cost) required several phone calls. I don't believe there is a concierge and front desk staff are not very helpful. To sum it up, if the rate is good and you don't need service it is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the hotel rooms are nice, so is the breakfast. The service is ok, I had problems with my key so I had to go downstairs 4 times before they fixed it. Other than that, it a nice hotel and staying there was a pleasure

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anyaryrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Leonardo Hotel in Jerusalem. The service was terrible. Waiters think that they are making you a favor. But even worse. The guy at the front desk when we checked out was extremely aggressive. When he asked us how was the service we answered that we expected more. He reacted very aggressively after arguing with us he wanted to fight with me threatened us that he would call his friend "to make us our trip in Israel a nightmare".
Worst experience in a hotel ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daotarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked three rooms for the night before Pesach and was very happy with the experience! Rooms are comfortable and the hotel has all the conveniences you'd expect - was a bit cold for the pool but the area looked lovely! I would DEF recommend this place and hope to return again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,388 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 9 Saint George | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9720918, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $143 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing