We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same restaurant that has received bad reviews?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Armenian Tavern

Armenian Tavern
Ranked #46 of 697 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Eastern European, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Bruton UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is this the same restaurant that has received bad reviews?”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I find it hard to believe we are talking about the same restaurant! We found the service good and the food very enjoyable. The surroundings are fascinating - more like an antique shop or museum. We went there two nights in a row, and both times enjoyed our meal. It is quite hard to find somewhere within the Old City which is open in the evening. As we sttod at the door deciding whether to go in or not, an American lady passed us and said "the food is excellent" - and she was right. I 'm sorry others have had bad experiences, but I can't agree with them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillharrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    220
    77
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best tavern in town”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went there twice. It looks like a museum when you enter. So many items that looks very old (don't know if they really are) and food is tasty and served quickly. It made me want to visit Armenia and taste other Armenian meals. It was one of the best surprises we had in Jerusalem. When you are at the entrance, you cannot imagine what is inside, but it is really worth entering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nouidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friday night specials”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very atmospheric place with really good food. We ate there on friday evening when there is a special menu and it was very good. Downside- like lots of places in Jerusalem the kitchen closes early which was a problem for us as we arrived at the restaurant just after 9.30 on Thursday having just arrived in Jerusalem

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWINDLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic interior - great food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When you enter this Place, you are taken by surprise. You'd never expected this. So many details and beautiful Things - after Your meal, you just feel like spending hours to study the interior. Very good Food, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Definately Worth a visit and once you've been there you want to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55Annegreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great and different place to eat in Jerusalem”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was one of the great experiences I had in Jerusalem: to get to know a LITTLE about the armenian culture through their food. I found it delicious. But even better than the food are the atmosphere of this tavern, its unique decoration and the really friendly service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia_sayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Tavern also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Armenian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing