We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Atmosphere, Great Food, Pretty Good Service”
Review of Armenian Tavern

Armenian Tavern
Ranked #49 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere, Great Food, Pretty Good Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Armenian Tavern is a beautiful restaurant. The decorations, the stone walls, the fact that it's underground make it a great place to take guests. My husband and I enjoy the food very much, but if you're looking for drinks and are getting used to the fresh-squeezed juice everywhere, don't order juice here. It does say that it's bottled juice on the menu, but it seems even more disappointing then usual after you've had fresh-squeezed juice down the street.

If you can go on a Friday night, you should try the Armenian dish that's only served that night (If I remember it correctly, it's Shumey or Shimey). The service was okay and got friendlier the longer we were there. Not as expensive as some of the other restaurants around Jaffa Gate, but will still cost you a little bit. Definitely a place we like to take people visiting us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danae_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    235
    87
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place, Service and Food!!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I liked everything, nice people, beautiful place and excellent food, the decoration is like to be in a Indy Jones movie, a real trip for the history, you need to visit it!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoBerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,420 reviews
1,028 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Wonderful Antique in the Armenian Quarter”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Generally very good standard middle eastern menu downstairs from the main street out of the Armenian Quarter toward the Jaffa Gate of the Old City. Fabulous atmosphere, good service, reasonable prices. Minimum meal per person order required.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, friendly service, good food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a really cool setting for a meal. You walk down into the tarvern from street level. It is filled with old paintings and antinquities. It's like you stepped back in time. The Armenian brothers who own it are weloming and our waitress Abir (A Beer) was wonderful. The food was good and the Israeli beer good as well. They have a nice wine selection and full bar. You won't find a place like this just anywhere. Unique and delightful experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank McKD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“We loved this restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant was our favorite in Jerusalem. Every dish was tasty and the service was excellent. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Tavern also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Armenian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing