We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A Refreshing DIning Experience - It's all in the presentation"”
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #18 of 839 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor. The restaurant is not accessible for those with mobility handicap The restaurant does not have handicap restrooms The restaurant is in a historically preserved building and this is the reason for lack of accessibility
Reviewed July 21, 2016

The Eucalyptus is superb in quality of food, preparation, food, waitstaff and atmosphere. They can host a dinner for two OR a large group in one of their many areas. It is not just eating but a delightful and awesome experience. The manager Sharbel Ishaq is the manager and personally stops by to check on his quests. The food is prepared fresh to order and with their own organic vegetables and herbs. My favorite was the goose prepared roasted and a light pine nut glaze. They also have Kosher foods. Save room for dessert. It is a sample of each one and it is amazing. There's a terrace patio. Don't miss out on one of the best restaurants with a different approach to excellent experience. Located at the bottom of Jaffa Gate, across the street. Reservations are suggested.

Date of visit: November 2015
2  Thank 636cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 854 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016

Eight members of my family met in Jerusalem to celebrate my younger daughter's Bat Mitzvah. We had arranged for them to serve a their banquet menu. The food was astonishingly good. Most of what was served were dishes mentioned in various biblical references. Delicious! The chef/proprietor came out to chat at one point. He could not have been more delightful. Talk about authenticity! The chef's family has been in the area since some 700BC! As you might imagine, after almost 2700 years, they have he recipes well tested. Moshe Basson, the chef and owner was especially charming to my younger daughter. The entire staff was quite charming.

If we ever manage to return to Jerusalem, this is the first restaurant we will return to.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We had a tasty meal featuring many inventive salads featuring figs. We also enjoyed St. Peter's fish (tilapia), couscous and many other traditional dishes. The menu is a haven for vegetarians. It is located in the artist's colony near the Old City. Although the dishes were very good, we felt that it was very over-priced., Many restaurants in Israel offer similar dishes at a much more reasonable price. The setting is lovely.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicios authentic food, excellent service, marvelous location and very friendly chef. We enjoyed this dinner very much. Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank itzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Food is marvelous. I'm a vegetarian, and found a great combo - Fire Roasted Eggplant appetizer and Grilled Wild Mushroom main. The owner/chef Moshe Basson was delightful - telling us his story

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Morley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.