We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I had this year in Jerusalem”
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #18 of 839 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor. The restaurant is not accessible for those with mobility handicap The restaurant does not have handicap restrooms The restaurant is in a historically preserved building and this is the reason for lack of accessibility
Reviewed June 8, 2016

I cannot adequately describe in words how wonderful our dinner was last night at Eucalyptus. I went with a friend and we ordered the tasting menu. Every single item was delicious. Everything. Fish, meat, veggies and dessert were all delicious and creatively presented. The chef, Moshe Baron, came to visit us a few times and allowed us to sample the fresh herbs from his garden, too. I am definitely planning to go back for special occasions. Tasting menu ranges from mid-200 NIS to mid-350 NIS per person. We were each completely satiated and the staff was receptive to requests even on the tasting menu.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 887 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

We went for a nice dinner across the park from our hotel with little idea of what to expect. We found excellent lemonana, astoundingly good service and ravishing food. We started with the spreads which were fabulous, familiar flavors in new ways. We were brought a baked artichoke, on the house, and it was among the best things we've ever eaten. Love, love, loved it. Entrees were incredible. All veggies tasted like they were just picked from the vine.

We really enjoyed this hidden, little gem and will definitely be returning next time we are in Israel!

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank lauradQ3674UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

We had an excellent dinner with innovative dishes mixing Middle Eastern with Israeli food. Charming service in a little alleyway just under the walls of the city. Very creative cuisine from chef Moshe Basson.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

The outdoor meal was really great. The chief came outside to greet our group and to describe his motivation for the food. Great wine, meats, fish, vegetables, soups, desserts served in kosher eatery. Would recommend to friends and family for a special treat.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We went based on excellent reviews and were not disappointed. We had the tasting menu and really enjoyed the combination of sweet and savory, all very well presented. Towards the end of the meal we had a nice chat with the chef, Moshe Basson, a very sweet and enthusiastic man. Only downside was cocktails not being super.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.