We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #2 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
257 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not sure what comments about "the view" are about. There wasn't any. You are close to the Jaffa Gate and you walk through a lovely park to the little street which the restaurant is on. The food and service was exceptional. Started off with a Jerusalem artichoke soup that was spectacularly flavorful. Then had the figs stuffed with chicken. A very interesting taste and wonderful texture. For the main, a specialty of the restaurant - Ingeria. It is a beef and eggplant stew in a tamarind sauce. It was one of the best eggplant dishes I have ever eaten. The chef came out to talk to us. He was very charming. The local wine was great. The desserts were exceptional. Not given to superlatives, this was really one of the best restaurants in the Middle East. Worth finding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    206
    73
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“My Favorite Jerusalem Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've eaten all over the world and all over Israel. The Eucalyptus Restaurant is my favorite restaurant in Israel by far. It's located in the most beautiful part of Jerusalem with the option to eat indoors or outside. The menu is creative and sophisticated; the food is delicious and the owner, a charming man by the name of Moshe Basson, makes a personal appearance. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 419Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friends and I visited the restaurant after having a 'biblical' day; beginning with the Bible Museum followed by the Biblical Zoo and spectacularly topped-off with the Eucalyptus restaurant. We booked for three people but arrived as a group of four, the restaurant obliged without hesitation and we were seated outside as requested. We started by sharing a multitude of appetisers, which were all delightful, a special mention to the chef who gave us two more appetisers for free! We next had the mallard, which was absolutely divine, tender yet bursting with flavour. The mashed potato accompaniment together with the red wine jus was utterly delectable. Overall, the food was mouthwatering and the service was very accommodating. I would without hesitation recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous "biblical" cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My family and I went to Eucalyptus on the last night of our two week trip to Israel. The food was unusual and delicious. The owner came out and explained the biblical significance of various dishes. The portions were plentiful but we had room left for a delicious dessert. We had a wonderful meal and a memorable last night in Jerusalem.

Helpful?
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

While in Jerusalem, we visited this restaurant. Everything was exquisite, from the moment we walked in, from start to finish. Found in a stunning location it was worth the effort. We were told the amazing story about the Eucalyptus tree and could not believe it! I am extremely fussy and difficult to please, however, even the smallest details were perfect ( for instance, the beautiful pomegranate seeds in the champagne ) and all the dishes were spectacular. Since I do not eat meat I thought I would not enjoy the evening out, however so much care went into all the dishes and everyone was happy. The dishes themselves were served on beautiful, stylish, china dishes, so artistic, and all of the presentation was absolutely amazing. I was so impressed with the everyone working there --- all were so lovely and welcoming. Also, the people and the atmosphere in the restaurant itself were well worth the visit - we loved it and have recommended the restaurant to many people! Very much a favourite place and worth the effort to visit and to recommend to others as a unique and beautiful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing