We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food terrible-great location and good service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #1 of 697 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food terrible-great location and good service.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We saw reviews on here so thought it would be great for a treat meal. However we were so disappointed. The service was great and it was v friendly and the location outside the walls was fab. But the food was all terrible!! We ordered the tasting menu so got to sample lots- the soup trio which was so so salty we couldn't eat it. The stuffed figs were horiffic- the flavours were so overpowering and did not complement each other at all. The baked aubergine made us gag. However the Iraqi meatballs were nice, and the saffron chicken and rice was ok as well. A very disappointing experience considering we love Israeli food and trying new things- would not recommend especially given the extortionate prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarjar900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    208
    74
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aussie tree....kosher food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What do you expect from a restaurant named after an Australian tree....kangaroo, alligator,koala? No! At this kosher restaurant in Jerusalem you get a gourmet kosher experience like no other. A chef who knows how to cook inventively blowing your mind with some dishes inspired by bible like lentil potage that you may give up your birthright for and others like a Palestinian rice dish that may get opposing factions sitting at the same table!

Unforgettable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal and experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed every bit of this place. The food was delicious and it seemed authentic and completely appropriate to the setting just out side the walls of the Old City. The service was perfect, great recommendations and we even had a visit from the chef. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caplansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The menu is broad and has something for everyone. We ordered the soups which were delicious. Then we had the breads with various spreads which were excellent. We had the lamb stew, very tasty and a chicken and rice dish that was wonderful. Don't miss the deserts, all wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this meal. The waiter upsold me to get the slow cooked lamb in a clay pot. The clay pot contained a piece of potato, a carrot, some stringy meat and a large hunk of fat. My wife's risotto was like minute rice cooked in powdered chicken soup. The appetizers (stuffed figs, artichoke soup) were ok. The service was also not very good. We asked for, but did not receive, any water and the waiter never bothered to come around to find out how (bad) the meal was. All this for over NIS 500, for a family of four.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nxnw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing