We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Versavee

Versavee
Ranked #71 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Middle Eastern, Israeli, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Christian Quarter
Description: Located in Jaffa Gate square in the Old City in Versavee Building,it is a renovated architectural masterpiece of old world charm with clean, modern amenities. There are options for indoor or outdoor dining. The menu features local Mediterranean cuisine which is by far the most delicious in Jerusalem. The bar offerings are vast and the fresh squeezed juices are.The service is superb as the restaurant is owner operated. It is convenient for visitors to the Old City, it also opens late at night.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Located next to so busy Jaffa Gate, Versavee's peaceful athmosphere was a pleasant break with great food. We enjoyed their kebab and shawarma - both were really excellent! They have also nice variety of wines and beers (e.g. three different Taybehs) on reasonable prices.
Though restaurant was virtually full, service was quick and still very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    86
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I went there for tea on a cold December day and it was very cozy. Nice atmosphere. Excellent place for a break after touring the Old City.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank tripmeister-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent hospitality, food ok but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had lunch with Versavee, next to Jaffa gate within old Jerusalem. It hides in a small aley, and only if you go in you find a lovely restaurant. The welcome and hospitality were great, the menu is quite plain for locals ( and we're local, not tourists, in Israel), The courses were large and more than enough for lunch, tasty, but, well, plain, As said, noyhing to write home about. Can't say if we'll go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank raanan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good solid dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying in the old city and wanted to stay close to the hotel for dinner. After walking around for awhile and realising that most things were closed we went into this cafe at Jaffa Gate. It was great. The staff was very nice and they even gave us free hummus since the food was taking awhile to prepare. We actually returned for dinner again before we left!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and came out of the old city at the Jaffa Gate and were looking for a restaurant when one of the four brothers/owners asked us if we were looking for a restaurant. Good he did. We had the lentil soup, tabouli salad, and lamb skews. All great. And the atmosphere was great too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versavee also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Versavee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing