We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service at Mona”
Review of Mona

Mona
Ranked #12 of 727 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nachla'ot
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service at Mona”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate hear in the bar this last week. We had such a great time! The bar waiter was very amiable and helpful. He made great cocktails and the food was superb! I had the duck and my husband had the seafood risotto. One of my favorite places to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    162
    47
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and wonderful service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sometimes a restaurant meal is topped off by wonderful service. In this case we had the most pleasant waiter, making a fine meal that much better. As I said to her as we left, it was her delightful smile that helped make our meal that much better.
Mona is located in a lovely old building with the title Artists House over the gate entrance. The restaurant was nicely decorated in a laid back style. When we walked into the place it was empty and we were seated at the table closest to the washroom - not too smart. We asked to move and were placed elsewhere.
The food was very tasty and good portions. I had a great chicken liver dish - one of the best I've ever eaten. My wife's fish dish was served with each of the components in separate vessels - nice.
Lovely, reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Exquisite experience in Jerusalem”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the restaurant - Our reservation for a table via email was promptly handled before we left for Israel. As it was Friday night of our dinner, it was a little quiet on the streets and we were worried that we would get lost. Look for the road sign that point to Artists Colony and the restaurant is in the courtyard. We were warmly welcomed by the hostess and got a nice corner. The restaurant was pretty busy already when we got there and filled with families, couples and friends in groups. The waitress who took care of us throughout the dinner was very polite and professional and patient in answering our questions to the dishes etc. She kept checking on us throughout the meal. The prices are not considered expensive for the quality of the meal that we got. The dishes were served swiftly which was surprising considering that they are quite packed already. We were served complimentary cauliflower mousse hors d’oeuvres which was light and fluffy sprinkled with mushrooms. The lamb osso boucco was one of the specials for the day and sizeable even for my husband. I had the pappardelle which was handmade and surprising very tasty even though it looked plain. The only dish that was nothing special was the asparagus and beetroot. The star dish must be the tuna carpaccio which was very fresh and seasoned appropriately. The only flaw was really the acoustics of the restaurant – with utensils being dropped during the dinner, the noise must be quite unbearable for guests in the middle of the dining hall. Overall great quality food and fantastic experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mona has to be cloned”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Unpretensious yet delicious. If in my next life I where to be a chef I would want to be Mona's chef! If in Jerusalem a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sayapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb dining in Jerusalem”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner last night at this superb venue on the recommendation of the Mamilla concierge.
The atmosphere was perfect for us - great decor, good lighting and a noise level conducive to private conversation
Our waitress was friendly and impressed us by her enthusiasm and attentiveness
The meals we chose were sensational - beautifully
presented, clean flavours and perfectly constructed.
My calamari starter with chorizo was amazing and the risotto main with mussels superb.
We did not leave room for the amazing desserts but our waitress brought out a complimentary pistachio brûlée with a raspberry sorbet - fabulous
Highly recommend ++++++

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing