We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy place, good food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mona

Mona
Ranked #15 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nachla'ot
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy place, good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The restaurant's accoustics is lousy. You can hear all the action around. If you think of a romantic dinner, go somewhere else.
I booked a place in the restaurant on the web, arrived on time, but I have been told that they have a place only on the bar. When I protested, they offered me a choice of 4 different tables. Very bad welcome, and loks like some managing problems. The waitor Yaacob was great and helpfull, and the food quality was more than good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Izik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    148
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Resturant in an amazing building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I found Mona as a great Resturant and bar ,great food in an amazing Historical building ,I highly recommend it ,great ambiance

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I ate here recently with my husband and teenage daughter. The food was very good but expensive.I had the coq au vin which was very good. My daughter is a bit of a fussy eater and she liked it as well. My daughter ordered the tagliatelle with herb butter( I think) and it was very yummy. I ended up eating some of it (too much!) The appetizers and dessert were also good. We enjoyed the atmosphere and did not feel rushed at all.
The only downside was that it was expensive but then again we found everything in Israel to be expensive. Still, this was our most expensive meal on our two week trip. We did enjoy it though. It was a nice change from all the hummus, felafel and kebabs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lreidgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant in Historic Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our Israeli hosts said that the restaurant was (1) in the original art school of Jerusalem and (2) used to be a bar. Even without the strange pedigree, this restaurant had a very nice vibe with good food to go with. The tartare was wonderful as was the lamb and mushroom stew (with risotto).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gatordant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy food terrible noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been twice and in both times I suffered from the noise. The food was good but not above average.
Service was very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing