We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food in an interesting museum atmosphere”
Review of Mona

Mona
Ranked #14 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nachla'ot
Level Contributor
1,364 reviews
985 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Really good food in an interesting museum atmosphere”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A wonderfully creative menu, well served, although a little on the pricey side. It was an unseasonably cold night, and customers kept going out to smoke between courses, opening a door right next to where we were sitting. The management locked the door to no avail. Smokers just unlocked it, and went out to smoke anyway. It really ruined the dinner, although the food and service were good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    160
    47
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Exalent food, romantic atmosphere. Best restaurant in Jerusalem .”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Mona is located in a historical structure next to an art gallrey. The atmosphere is cosy and romantic. The food is superb, every dish is prepared with a lot of talent and knowledge.
We had a amazing dinner there.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SivanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trendy place”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sometimes too trendy but the food is very good, nice atmosphere, good service. A bit pricey but it's worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ran13293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over Rated........Over Priced”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Whilst in Jerusalem my friend wanted to take me to a "Welcome" dinner and booked Mona's because he had heard it was good. The location was excellent as it was within easy walking distance of my hotel and the ambiance could have been great except for the over crowding but on the whole...... Disappointing......the food was good and the service also but vastly over priced. We shared a starter of Pate, I had Bream or Sea Bass and Yehuda had a Shrimp dish, we had a bottle of palatable Merlot, shared a dessert and had two coffees......this cost in excess of 620 shekel and gratuities were not included. We also felt rushed to vacate the table due to the fact that because we had booked for 18-45 it had been booked again for 20.30.
In England food and service of a similar standard would have left us with change of about 200 shekel considering it was only 1 starter 2 main course and 1 dessert +wine and coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best meals in Israel”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mona has become my favorite restaurant in Jerusalem (and Maybe in Israel). It is located in a beautiful building, and during the summer days there's a small court. The food is amazing and creative. Each bite is an inspiring carnival for the senses. Moshiko, the chef puts his heart into every single dish, and gives it his own sensual interpretation.
Whether you go with a date, or family, or even for a quick bite and drinks with friends, you're going to fall in love with the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W1lddaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing