We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious and friendly”
Review of Ima

Ima
Ranked #62 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Salon-de-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delicious and friendly”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very kurdish-jewish tasty food: lentils soup, stuffed vegetables, stuffed chicken and very good wine! The staff is very friendly. We loved it...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    62
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
235 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great home food”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a great place to eat authentic Jerusalem food.
Excellent, Kosher - and very testy !
We eat there and loved it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viby Sjaelland - Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oriental food prepared with tradition and passion.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ima means mother in Hebrew. This restaurant is the work of Kurdish-Jewish woman that started it to make some extra money for her family, a long time ago. So "Mother" who has formally retired from the restaurant is still there with her recipes and cooking techniques. The restaurant is administered by her grand-children. Her grand-daughter is in charge of taking the orders, among many others.
The menu covers all the register typical of the middle with some of the dishes prepared in the European fashion, not all of them.
I know a bit about ME cooking, born in Istanbul as I was. Kurdistan is a bit further east but the main ingredients are the same: lamb, mutton, chicken grilled served with tasty, savory rice, meatballs, meat in the oven with lentils, chickpeas, beans and even a specialty like "lady´s fingers" for those who like them, sallads, desserts, pastries and all of it served in good portions, underling good both for taste and quantity.
A year ago they had a standard lunch at a fixed price and those who took it had the right to two different hors-d´oeuvres so if a couple went in they had four good small dishes to sharpen their appetite. I will not name the price right now but I can say that it was well-under a hundred shekelim. No outdoor sitting.
So book or try your luck. If there are many of you, like a group, I know that they might accomodate you at a good price.
Bete avon. Bon appétit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hummus and shasiki”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A small sitdown stand at the Agrippas entrance to the Mahane Yehuda market, with some of the best falafel, hummus and shasiki stew I've ever had. Not for tourists, so a small amount of Hebrew is useful. Good, inexpensive food, and a great place to watch the craziness of the market all around you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jslaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Kuba”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I ate in the Ima restaurant in the Machane Yehuda Shuk. We ordered two different kinds of kuba soup. With the rice, it felt like a full meal. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. The only place to eat is at the bar which was fine for the two of us, but if you go out with more people you have to eat outside. Many people will like that for the atmosphere of the market.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ima also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing