We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place with perfect view”
Review of Ecce Homo Convent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecce Homo Convent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a four nights stay in Ecce Homo and felt absolutely satisfied. Clean rooms, good breakfast, willing staff, good wifi, perfect view from roof terrace.

Plus who could ever be a competition for a pilgrim house which was actually built in Via Dolorosa near 2nd station of Christ---?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I loved staying at Ecce Homo. I met so many wonderful people from all over the world and remain friends with some of these. I stayed in the dorm and had everything I needed there. The food was wonderful, the view remarkable. It was a really home away from home. I loved the fact that they have free use of a computer and wifi, coffee and tea available all day. It is a place, where it is very easy to make friends with the other guests and the lounge is cosy to spend time in, day or night. It was an easy walk to most of the sights- Garden Tomb, the Wall, Pool of Bethesda, and so on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Go to Jerusalem to do work in the region as much as I can. While in Jerusalem, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Ask for a single on the floor with the office - it is wonderful to hear the call every morning. Love that it is in the middle of the Arab quarter. Food is fresh and delightful - always people of the same mind who are staying there. Such a place for pilgrims for peace!

Room Tip: Select a room close to the balcony and office - can be a bit of a maze. If nothing available - as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed 3 nights and we really had a great time!!!!!!!!!
complimentary tea and coffe on the terrace with a stunning view on the old city was the perfect end of the day!!!!!!
room was clean and confortable, breakfast was fine but could be better (cheese, vegetables, bread, yogurt, milk, tea and coffe)...
our friends didn't have hot water (because of manteinance working) they were refounded by 10% of the room price.
very reccomended!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank falex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location and Amazing view from the rooftop. The rooms were simple as expected, no AC but a regular fan which sufficed. There is a Mosque next by so bring your earplugs if their prayers disturb you (not a problem for me). Request a lower room if stairs bother you, as we had no elevator one day and getting to the 3rd floor was a bit tiring. Overall it was a great stay and I love the fact that we had the St Anne Church so close as well as the great view of the Dome of the Rock.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ecce Homo is clean, convenient and a great place to stay when in Jerusalem. The accommodation is very comfortable and the hospitality of the Sisters of Sion is exceptional. In the heart of the Old City, you can get to most things on foot. I highly recommend Ecce Homo as a base when in Jerusalem.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Cate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

For a clean, modern, reasonable, private, secure, well run historic establishment in the heart of old city Jerusalem, this is your place. Sit with the "Pilgrims" for breakfast and meet with people from everywhere and anywhere. Listen to the Jerusalem chickens awake at sunrise. Watch the arab marketplace come alive. Get to feel you are in an alternate universe where time stood still. Rooms are smallish but adequate. The views are inarguably authentic as are all the sights and sounds.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#55 of 101 in Jerusalem
311 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
697 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecce Homo Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecce Homo Convent

Address: Notre Dame de Sion Communaute du Chemin Neuf Via Dolorosa 41 | P.O.Box 19056, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ecce Homo Convent Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing