We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have recommended this to family & friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecce Homo Convent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecce Homo Convent
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have recommended this to family & friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

What a wonderful find! Not the first place we stayed around the Old City, but we were delighted we found it. Excellent location, well priced, incredibly clean and the people were all wonderful! I have stayed in hostels all over the world, but this was my first dormitory experience - hardly like a dorm at all. The rooftop views are a wonderful way to unwind at the end of the day or take a break during the heat of the afternoon. My sister & I have recommended this location to friends & family - can't say enough of the great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaV16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    57
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
40
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in the Ecce Homo guesthouse during our visit of Jerusalem and we could not have made a better choice.

The place has an excellent location near the Damascus gate in a quite calm street. While it may be far from Jaffa gate, it was close to a lot of shops, bakeries and restaurants and a short walk from Western Wall.

We stayed in a four bed private room and we were pleasantly surprised by how big and well furnished the room was. We were provided enough towels and were even given extra blankets which came in handy.

The bathroom was clean and fully functional, although the shower had a tendency to get the whole bathroom wet.

The breakfasts were really simple and each day the same, but provided us with enough food to get us started in the morning. Keep in mind it's quickly gone - while some stuff is replenished throughout the day, the hard cheese and fruits usually don't last long.

There is a common room providing siting area, lots of books, tea, coffee, internet connection and even a free PC to use. In the summer there is a nice terrace outside which provides a great view of the city, so definitely spend an evening in there!

Absolute highlight of our stay was the staff - every single one of them was very friendly and helpful and we felt very warmly welcome and it made us enjoy our stay much more.

When I come back to Jerusalem (and I know I will), I will definitely stay in this place again - it's a great choice!

PS: Pack a pair of earplugs as there is a mosque nearby and the 5 am call is really loud in here :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had lunch here one day during a group tour. There were two groups there at the same time and we had separate rooms. We were welcomed warmly and served promptly with drinks apart from water available to buy if we wanted them. We all had the same food, simple French style, plenty of it and all lovely, especially the soup. There's a pleasant roof terrace for coffee afterwards with a great view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a good place to go if you are on a low budget. Staff is friendly, but that is about it. If you're looking for comfort, forget it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cafetin_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our stay at Ecce Homo for 3 nights was one of the highlights of our Israel visit. Situated in the Muslim Quarter in the old city, it is an ideal location to visit the sacred sites. We felt safe at all times and the views from the terraces are outstanding. Accommodation is simple but comfortable. There is so much to see in Jerusalem that most days will be spent out anyway. However it was great to be able to come back for a tea or coffee (an honor system with coin contribution operated) in between visiting the sites. Meals too, were simple but filling and appetizing.
Most of the staff waiting on tables etc are volunteers and are welcoming and friendly. The reception staff are extremely helpful and we were always greeted with a smile on returning back for the day.
Daily Catholic Mass is offered for those who wish, but there is absolutely no pressure to attend. The singing in the Chapel was beautiful.
Suggestions:
If you wish to visit the Temple Mount leave early to wait in the queue (Well before breakfast).
The new tram service is outside the Damascus gate and there is a ramp to the side which can be used for pulling suitcases. We used it to go to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed with my family in this family holiday. It was a nice place in the Old City, perhaps the best and with a great view. They offer a breakfast, it is a convent run by a french congregation, so you are treated as a pilgrim. Overall we had a good stay, however the reservations/front desk staff which is only open from 7:45am to 9:00am (...that's right) is really rude, on the other hand the sisters are very helpful. It was a nice place in the Old City, but there should be other nice places outside it that can allow you to explore other parts of it. Unless you walk a lot like us!

Room Tip: I was traveling with my family so we had a triple room. However I got the chance to see the dorms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Ecce Homo is 10 mins walk from Damascus Gate. If you are planning to spend most of your time in the old city it is ideal - you can go back for a cup of tea or to drop off your shopping, and then head out for more sightseeing.

Warning: the only real negative to this place is the proximity to the Temple Mount and the mosque. At about 5am there is a call to prayer which is very loud and, depending on your room, will certainly wake you up. Take ear plugs, roll over and go back to sleep. There are many mosques in the Old City and I suspect this will be a problem in most places there.

The hostel is staffed by volunteers who are friendly and eager to help. The hostel, convent and church are all part of the same multi-level complex. In the basement are ancient water cisterns and roman roads, on the upper levels are peaceful gardens and quiet terraces with table and chairs where you can rest or read. Rooms are simple with single beds - don't expect a hotel - but the water is hot and the shower is good. Many guests are older pilgrims and a few families, so the atmosphere is subdued but friendly. There are quite a number of house rules and procedures to be respected, but they are not onerous.

The Coffee Bar is open most of the time and has free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is good, with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread/toast with jam, tea and coffee. We stayed 4 nights but only took the evening meal once (must order before 2pm, cost US$12) and it was good, with generous helpings.

The office for payment is only open from 0745 to 0900 each day, so you need to plan ahead if you have an early departure. Reception is purely for looking after your key and showing you to you room when you arrive.

We hired a rental car to see the Dead Sea and Masada and to drive to the airport. You can park at Damascus Gate from 1800 to 0800 for NIS10. If you enter the car park before 1800 you must go back at 1800 or just after and pay the bill at the hourly rate (NIS8/hour) and log in again for the overnight rate. Otherwise you will pay the hourly rate for your entire stay (I found this out the hard way!).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwi_737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#48 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#9 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
The Sephardic House
#51 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecce Homo Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecce Homo Convent

Property: Ecce Homo Convent
Address: Notre Dame de Sion Communaute du Chemin Neuf Via Dolorosa 41 | P.O.Box 19056, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ecce Homo Convent Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing