We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Restaurant

Philadelphia Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Down Town East Jerusalem
Description: Welcome to The Philadelphia Restaurant. We are an Established Restaurant located in East Jerusalem. If your looking for a nice dining place for you and your guests,look no further. When you come to tour the Holy land you came to have a Memory of a Lifetime. Let us be a part of that!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

In comparison to many places I dined during my stay in Jerusalem and also tel aviv, this was the best for value, and food was also great.

The menu initially seemed very pricey, however, they brought out a large amount of complimentary entrees (the most delicious falafel and hummus included). The restaurant has a modern style both indoor and outdoor.
Must try place if you're staying in Jerusalem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WWFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice restaurant, good food, but no big choice for vegetarians I'm afraid. Bit expensive. It is near to the hotel (national hotel) where we we4re staying. The salad was good, but the lentil soup was a bit thin. the portion were good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
“A Great Restaurant in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have the opportunity of visiting Jerusalem several times a year. We always look forward to dinner at the Philadelphia Restaurant. It is close to the Old City and is always a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry8922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Intense walk to great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

So after a long hot day I'm working with my iPhone and Google maps trying to make our way through the East Jerusalem neighborhood in a teeming crowd of native Arabs walking trash filled streets. The GF was getting nervous but turned down my offer to turn back. Spotted the right street and spotted the restaurant. Yay! But now you have to go into the deserted mall entrance and down the stairs. Now it feels like I'm in a James Bond film with a major action sequence coming. We're the only ones in the place (came early) and some guy next door is practicing live reggae. Service from the owner was great. The Mezze was huge (I mean huge!) and outstanding and the pita was firm and hot. Mixed grill was very good but not huge and the GF preferred more crisp chips. Wine was great and the price was reasonable but not a bargain. Decor was cool. We asked the owner where we could smoke shisha and he said "right here" and whipped up a hookah and two warm mint teas that ended up being on the house. A great adventure I'll never forget. Don't let the neighborhood scare you away. It's only four and a half blocks from the Garden Tomb which is pretty chill

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Qbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality ratio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in East Jerusalem near the Damascus Gate (5-10 minutes). It is a family run business, established 45 years ago. They glad to here absolutely for all guests.
Helpful and friendly staff. Middle Eastern cuisine is offered in a classic Interior. Tremendous atmosphere.
Very tasty food, fresh and creative cuisine, big portions, variety of salads and appetizers, good Israeli wine.
Excellent price/quality ratio. Many thanks to Walid and Zuhair for the warm welcome. If I am in Jerusalem again will definitely be back to this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khushpulyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Philadelphia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing