We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truly excellent humus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lina Restaurant

Lina Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Christian Quarter
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“truly excellent humus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the place for a quick humus, but what a humus! Lina is a legend among Humus buffs. Don't miss!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ran13293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    50
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hummus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

As an Israeli who have tried many different kinds of hummus I would honestly say that it's the best hummus you would find in Israel. Otentic food and design. Short menu that serves all you need for a good meal.
They make fresh pomegranate, orang and carrot juice!
Really reasonable prices!!!
Pine nut hummus is recounted! The nuts flavor goes well with the hummus flavor :)
And don't be afraid to eat with hands... Part of the fun

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hummus ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very simple place, difficult to find but everyone knows it so just ask around. They make the hummus in front of you. Very authentic. All Jerusalem comes together there, Jews, Muslims, Christians, tourists from all over the world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice small place for Hummus in the Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a very well known and loved Hummus place in the ols city of Jerusalem, in the Muslim part.
it has a very small and basic menu - Hummus of different sorts, and a great salad. That is basically it!
I f you are looking for a place to eat something tasty, authentic, inexpensive filling and healthy - this is the place for you.
I think it is a lot better than Abu Shukri, another famous place not far.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liatTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“Top-notch hummus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First Impressions: Upon recommendation from our local tour guide, I sought out this place. From the Damascus Gate, take a soft 45-degree right onto Beit Hibad Street, then turn right onto Via Dolorosa, it will be on your left side, near the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. (Alternatively, take Jaffa Gate, follow David Street, turn left into Christian Quarter Road, then turn right onto St. Francis Street.) It has a glass entryway, bordered by blue doors. A humble red sign hangs overhead. It's a modest "hole in the wall" restaurant -- five tables, more on the second floor.

PROS: It only makes one thing: hummus. Fresh, authentic and unpretentious. The limited menu features different iterations on the hummus theme: Hummus with pine nuts, hummus with ful, etc. Of these choices, I particularly love the hummus with freshly-roasted pine nuts. Although I'm a dedicated carnivore, I enjoyed this dish so much that I could turn vegan! Costing about £3, it is of excellent value. I could eat this every day. Service is friendly and brisk.

CONS: Hard pressed to find anything negative, except for its small space, which can quickly get crowded during lunch.

Verdict: Remember the saying "Whatever is worth doing is worth doing... well?" In this case Lina does not disappoint. It has elevated the lowly chickpea and created a top-notch dish, IMO, better than Abu Shukri's and perhaps best in Jerusalem, worth taking a special trip into the Old City. Recommended. Grade A+.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lina Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Lina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing