We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hummus in the Old City -- despite the lesser fame”
Review of Lina Restaurant

Lina Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Neighborhood: Christian Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Christian Quarter
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Best hummus in the Old City -- despite the lesser fame”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I found this place through my guide Madeleine Lavine (whom I strongly recommend as well); we had an impromptu, carry-out lunch to share with a shop-owner friend nearby. I had eaten Abu Shukri earlier that week, the supposed "best hummus in the Old City." It's not -- this place is.

The hummus is creamy, rich and spectacular. The fresh pita was to die for. The services was great, warm, friendly -- and they even smiled at us! This latter part a sharp departure from Abu Shukri, where we were largely ignored.

I have my place in the Old City for hummus now! I'm hungry just thinking about it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite hummus in Jerusalem”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Small non touristic local place in an alley in the Christian Quarter of Old Jerusalem.
Great Hummus! My favorite in Jerusalem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Balboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best hummus in Jerusalem”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our private tour guide brought us here because it's his favorite little hole-in-the-wall lunch place in Jerusalem, and our opinion of hummus will never be the same. We had no idea that a bowl of hummus with extra tahini, chickpeas, and good quality oil, plus soft, warm, spongy pitas could be one of the most delicious lunches we had ever tasted (for less than $5). Amazing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Hummus, in the heart of the old city”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were 4 people on Saturday noon time looking for something quick .
Someone recommended Lina Hummus place and we were not disappointed.
The hummus and arab salads were very good.
The bill for 4 people - 100 NIS which could only defined as cheap

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Hummus and Fresh Pommegranate Juice”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My cousin recommended this tiny restaurant in the Old City of Jerusalem right next to the The Third Station. Ask anyone for the Lina Restaurant and they'll direct you there. The Hummus is freshly made and quite tasty. I had it garnished with pine nuts though there are a couple of variations, plain or with foul (beans). There are a couple of kinds of juices including my favorate, tangy freshly squeezed pommegranate juice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllyDresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lina Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Lina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing