We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and popular”
Review of Hachatzer

Hachatzer
Ranked #113 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bak'a
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reliable and popular”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Although we booked and were told that we would be seated downstairs - which did not worry us - we did not like the table immediately adjacent to the toilets but were told by the staff that the vacant table a bit further away was not available .It remained empty all the time we were there and still vacant when we left !!
We eat at this restaurant quite frequently and despite the unacceptable table the service was helpful courteous and efficient and the food up to its usual excellent standard
We are still of the view that this is one of the best restaurants in Jerusalem and standards are kept high in the presentation and quality of food and service
We will definitely return but we will be more pedantic about our choice of table

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newmarket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice buit not more”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Maybe it was me ordering some very heavy staff (spleen stuffted with ris de veau for starters and oxtail for main course) but the bottom line was not exciting...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a restaurant we come back to time and time again. The decor is nothing special, but the food is always between good and excellent, and the service is always friendly and efficient. We have never had a bad meal here. The prices are par for the course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five star and four gold medals”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The best kosher restaurant in Jerusalem until now

"Hachatzer" - a Mediterranean chef restaurant specializing in grilled meat, stews and fish. Varied selection of cuisines and flavors varied: gourmet connoisseurs of French piquancy to the Mahane Yehuda market.

The restaurant is located in one of the exceptions preserved old railway building in Jerusalem and the modern decor and warm with two floors, stylish side bar open kitchen.

Five star and four gold medals: eggplant cream, ceviche trio, crispy gnocchi, veal asado. But also other dishes that kissing the top line called Gourmet. I would not miss the feta and the carpaccio and more.

The interior design and unique delicate and takes full curved lines of the building, the place is quite busy and I think requires advance reservations desk, waitresses well knowledgeable on the menu and the service itself is very professional and meticulous

The restaurant is located in one of the exceptions preserved old railway building in Jerusalem and the modern decor and warm with two floors, stylish side bar open kitchen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Really great chef restaurant! Really nice atmosphere, and the chef is super friendly and will usually make a table side appearance. Food is delicious I especially recommend the meze salads and the fois gras

Helpful?
Thank Gruny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hachatzer also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hachatzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing