We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scala - Chef kitchen & bar

Scala - Chef kitchen & bar
7 King David Street | Inside the David Citadel Hotel, Jerusalem 94101, Israel (Mammilla)
972 2 6212030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 636 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $11 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mammilla
Description: An exclusive restaurant in the heart of Jerusalem, combines complete elegance, and urban lifestyle with contemporary taste. A collaboration of the best local ingredients and international cooking techniques creates an original Mediterranean kitchen that will please every culinary lover. The menu consists of medium-sized dishes, perfect for sharing. The SCALA experience is completed by professional and friendly service. SCALA, is a kosher restaurant targeting a diverse clientele: tourists, diplomats, businessman and local food lovers.
US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

So I finally totally felt like I was eating food from Top Chef. And as a kosher-keeper I never get to feel that way. It was delicious and beautifully presented, and really good, and filling. Yes, we were there with a toddler, and no, I don't recommend that. But It was really good. Some of the waiters were a bit confused about what vegetarian is (they thought fish was vegetarian, and possibly poultry). But the service was really excellent and everyone was very eager to please. Great dining experience, and feels very upscale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the "must" when you are in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Highly recommended !!!
Great restaurant ,we had the unforgettable evening on the bar of Scala .
The food is exquisite ,many options especially for meat lovers .Let the stuff to recommend you cocktail pairing for your plate, it will take your gastronomic experience to another level .
The stuff is very professional did everything to make our visit pleasurable during all the evening .
Don´t miss it ,especially the cocktails ,there are just delicious .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“A great review to a great restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to have a fabulous dining experience. Their customer service is top notch. Our server was very knowledgeable with the menu and all staff were professional and courteous. Their food is delightfully fresh with a lot of fun twists to traditional foods. It is one of the best restaurants we have been to. Top notch... Thank you for a wonderful evening
yinon & eliav

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YinonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's all about the service and these guys are doing it right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's been years since a properly visit Jerusalem and after years away from home (we live in Australia) in our last visit we decided we should enjoy a full day in Jerusalem.
Although I'm not complaining about he service in Australia but its the little treats and personal service that we miss the most.
We were walking on that night look for a good place to have a few drink and a meal and Scala was inviting us in.
My wife and I love a bit of a change and we asked the boys at Scala if there it's possible to have a verity of drinks as well as a verity of food so we won't feel that we missed anything on the menu.
Without hesitation the boys were up for the challenge and what planned to be a meal and drive back to tel aviv, ended up in a great night and us staying in Jerusalem for the night.

Check this guys out

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roeybalbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

For God's sake it's one of the best restaurants in Jerusalem. Especially... for the food and the cocktails. I took one with cucumbers, I definitely recommend it. The service is friendly but also professional. The atmosphere is cozy. Don't hesitate if you're in town :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala - Chef kitchen & bar also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Scala - Chef kitchen & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing