We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the Old City”
Review of Ritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ritz Hotel
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to the Old City”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel itself is good - clean and comfortable. If location in arab district of Jerusalem OK for you - this is very good value for money. There are new elevators ant sanity devices in the rooms. The breakfast is not from Michelin's restautants, especially if you are beef-eater. Wi-Fi works but not very fast but for free. Good place for Jerusalem tourist visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KievIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
46
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel five nights and we feel comfortable. The room was about 20 square meters and the furniture was very humble, but it was OK for our needs and also reasonably clean. The buffet restaurant is really good in quality and variety of food. The staff is very attentive and eager to help.
The hotel is close to the old city and we only needed less than 10 minutes walking to get to the Herods Gate. Also there is a commercial street in the nearby Arab quarter full of shops. Another added bonus is free internet access using the computer located in the hotel shop. In any case don't expect a luxurious 5 start Ritz hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to drink a beer in the buffet restaurant don't ask for Israeli beer. It is smaller a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMORENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awesomeville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here with a group for a couple nights. I had nice time in the hotel. The rooms seemed pretty clean for the most part, the wall near my bed looked a bit dirty. The bathroom wasn't impressive, the shower was really small. I would say I am a pretty normal sized person, and I didn't have much room to move around. You can hear prayer calls at night BUT you can't really blame the hotel for that considering they can't go and tell them to stop the prayer calls. And you will basically hear prayer calls throughout Jerusalem no matter what hotel you choose anyways.The meals were really great! I never went away feeling unsatisfied or hungry. Dinner was always good! The staff was really nice, really helpful, just great people. There is a nice lounge area outside the elevators that has armchairs and tables. . And there is also a gift shop. The TV channels are not super expansive, the only english channels are news channels but hey, you came to Israel to do something other than watch TV. All in all I liked my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnastasiaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were on a tour and last stop before returning to NY.
Hotel seemed a bit crowded, but adequate. However, the area it was in (Palestinian) did not seem to be one of the best, and we were reluctant to go out at night. One person's wife got sick at night and when he had to go to the Pharmacy, he asked two other guys (including me) to go with him. Nothing happened, but ... you get the idea. We did not know the hotel was in a Palestinian area, but when we were in an area primarily Jewish and we went into the hotel area, we could see the difference - trash all over the streets. etc.
Free PCs were available, but ... not enough for the number of people there.
The "wake-up" (Muslim) call at 0530 was not really needed, but came in very loud and clear.
Bathroom was okay.
Hotel was reasonably close to many of the sights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

What I liked most of all in this hotel was its value: sure it is one of the best options in Jerusalem if you don't want to stay in a hostel as well as to pay for staying in expencive King David or smth like that.

"+"
- walking distance from the Old City (Herold gates ~ 7 min, Damascus gate ~ 15 min):
- rooms are clean;
- reception is ready to help;
- free wi fi in the room.

"-"
- location in Arabic part of the city (as for me I liked it because of some cheap and good cafes close to the hotel but it's not a touristic place)
- rooms are very basic and not spacious enough;

So the hotel is good for sleeping but it's not for rest & relax.

And I was really disappointed because I couldn't get back my USB which I left in the room while leaving. I came back to the hotel in a couple of days but they said they could not give it to me because their housekeeping room was closed (it was 7 pm), and they were even not sure if they keep it or threw it out :(

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandrinKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I spent one night here with a tour group and then staryed one more night on my own. Nice room, very friendly service, very reasonable price --and an easy walk to the Old City of Jerusalem. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent. Two computers with internet connections were also available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Hi to All,

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and I could not get bored from it. The rooms was spacious, confy, & clean. The lobby personnel had every thing I needed to make the outside arrangment. They spoke fluent English and new the area well. The hotel was about 10 minutes from the holly city (old Jeruslem gate). The hotel had a resturant and a refrieshment bar. It also had a quite big place to set down and relex with piano available for playing. I have been to so many hotels, and I consider this place to stay again in the future visits. I forgot to say, they have also a free parking lot.

Regards
Andre Eid from California

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#45 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#61 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#48 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Hotel

Property: Ritz Hotel
Address: 8 Ibn Khaldun, Jerusalem 9710204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Hotel located in downtown East Jerusalem is one of the first hotels built in the sixties. It is nestled in the heart of the commercial district, an enjoyable stroll to the Old City of Jerusalem with magnificent holy and historical sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing