We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
Ranked #77 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed one night at this lovely establishment. The price was quite low compared to the majority of hotels in the city. Perhaps it didn't have all the amenities of a "5 star hotel" but I didn't go to Jerusalem to sit by a pool or get a pedicure, I went to SEE and experience Jerusalem. I wanted a clean room, at a good price and the Panorama Hotel was that and much more.

Our room was a good size, very clean, including the bathroom, which had a bidet in addition to the toilet. The view was spectacular. Waking up in the middle of the night and seeing the illuminated Dome, right from my bed is a memory that will last me my lifetime.

A wonderful breakfast buffet was included, and I opted to dine in at the dinner buffet which was absolutely delicious.

The owner and his family went out of their way to assist us with maps, drivers and advice. It really was as another poster stated, just like staying with family. They were the definition of 'hospitality'.

My companion loved the hotel as well, but was a little put off that there wasn't hot water 24/7. To me the fact that a plus. Do I care that while I'm out sight seeing there is no hot water being generated?The water was hot when I needed a shower and that's fine with me. I think it's a plus that they don't waste energy heating water during the hours when it's least likely to be used.

I highly recommend the Jerusalem Panorama Hotel and would certainly stay there the next time I'm lucky enough to be in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Higher floors of course have better views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Maggie65NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    49
    13
    21
See reviews for
25
51
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The best situated hotel in East Jerusalem if you want to break free of the tours and the tourists and fill your window and days with the realities of the Old City: eat a little humble pie and climb the hill into Lion's Gate and feel what is really happening in this dynamic place. The rooftop is simple but the view is truly panoramic from Al Aqsa, the Wall and the Apartheid wall. I recommend this experience to break free of the propaganda and the myths. The management are courteous and truly helpful. Do not be afraid of the West Bank. This is a safe and interesting neighbourhood from which to come to terms with Jerusalem

Room Tip: Further from street traffic the better as the rooms are not double glazed and it will be hot without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

You have to book this hotel with your eyes wide open. It is NOT a 5* and it never pretends to be. It is one of the cheapest hotels in Jerusalem but has million dollar views, So don't come here thinking you can pay peanuts and get 5 star service. It's not going to happen. What you get is basic, very safe accommodation, with super, really super staff (friendly, courteous, helpful, really nice people at the front desk with really excellent English), MAGNIFICENT views that are worth the price alone, and very good value for money.

It's ideal for a walking tour to all the famous Jerusalem historic places.

The downside is that it is in East Jerusalem, so may taxis from the other side will not take you here, but we found no problems, no problems at all getting taxis to and from, that were also quiet cheap, although we knew we were getting ripped off a few bucks here and there, but in reality it was chickenfeed and probably what you would pay in tips and taxes elsewhere,

Breakfast was OK, and lots of it.

Be aware also that this is a meeting point of 3 huge religions, and there are synagogues, mosques, and churches everywhere. Good. Noisy yes, but still good. Anyone who has been to an Islamic country also knows that the call to prayers booms out from the minarets. So suck it in and get used to, it's all part of being here in a very historic place.

I highly recommend for those who want convenient location and go here with EYES WIDE OPEN!

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking out towards the Dome of the Rock etc,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I know the review date is October 2010 but we got caught here during the volcanic ash crisis. This forced change of plans was no problem for the hotel. They never bothered us for money before the end of our extended stay, were the friendliest people we met in Jerusalem and tried their best to help us wherever they could.

The walk into the old town does take the best part of 20 minutes but is the iconic view of the Dome and easily done with a 2 year old. We too had trouble with Taxi drivers and it seems everything that the system can throw at the owners to force them out is being done. This hotel stands on prime real estate and would be booming if it were not unfortunate enough to be in an Arab neighbourhood and the politics that comes with local services etc... Not that the locals are a problem, the local fruit seller gave my son free fruit whenever he spotted him and we never felt threatened but more welcomed during our 9 night stay. Don't fall for the racism if coming from the Israeli side if told it is unsafe, dangerous or not worth staying at as I would definately return and you can easily pay double the going rate for food and accomodation if staying the opposite end of Jerusalem.

Food is an issue, there are a couple of convinience stores, fruit sellers and a nice kebab and pizza shop nearby. Unfortunately the kitchen does not have the numbers or the chef needed to be a success so this is the only thing I would not recommend. Best to eat in the old town and walk it off on the way home.

The rooms are dated but are clean and comfortable. This would have been a top class hotel before the partioning of the West Bank. Unfortunately it has been starved of investment so if a modern 4* Hilton is expected then don't stay here. The call to prayer is no worse than anywhere else in the middle east to your sleep. What makes this place though is the staff who are more than happy to make sure your stay is enjoyed, you only have to smile and ask. I feel sorry for them for all the obstacles in their way as they genuinely want to be able to offer you a top class stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank N00dles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We booked this hotel with our American Advantage miles. When I looked at reviews on that site, it sounded o.k. for the price & the pictures looked o.k. I found out later that the hotel was located in Palestine (East Jerusalem). Although a little worried about the location, we decided to give it the benefit of a doubt. It took us over an hour to find a Taxi driver that would even take us to this neighborhood (not sure if there was a boycott going on or what...no one would say). We finally found an Arab Taxi driver that took us so we got his name & phone # for future rides which came in handy when we checked out the following day (we had to wait until after 8pm since it was during Ramadan). The elevator up to our room was scary (only 2 & other didn't work). The A/C only blew air (was not cold). The furniture, carpet, & bedding were very old. They sure made the entry of the hotel look fancy! The restaurant was not open & no hours were posted-we were very hungry so had to eat beans & corn from vendors on the street. No amenities to speak of. Also, this is not the DAN Panorama hotel in Jerusalem to avoid confusion. One more thing, there was a mosque very near & the loud speaker came on @ 5:30am calling to prayer...we weren't sleeping anyway. We moved to the Abraham Hostel which had great A/C.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bibi34225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at the Panorama based on its relatively cheap price for Jerusalem. It is located on the Mt of Olives, and once you recognize its profile on the hillside, it is easy to find your way to. The rooms are old and not in very good order. As has been mentioned, the hotel has a great view of old Jerusalem. The staff are excellent and make effort to see to it that your needs are met. Breakfast is ample, but the juices are watery and the fruits are canned. There is really nothing around the neighborhood in terms of restaurants or nightlife. There are produce markets near the hotel and a convenience store across the street. The hotel offers secure parking on site in a small lot in front of the hotel. There are generally neighborhood kids walking the streets who may approach for money or taunts. We didn't find that much of a deterrent, but if you are bothered by such things-be aware. For budget minded travelers with a vehicle, this would be a place to consider. There is a mosque nearby and you will hear the calls to prayer, however, they were not as loud as many other places we stayed while in Isreal and Jordan. It is not an exclusive accommodation by any means, but it is a fairly convenient base for operation while in Jerusalem and will permit you to save some money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed 5 days in this hotel and we will come back next time when we visit Jerusalem.
The room was basic but good and clean. The service was very good.
Good location and a great view!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley_Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mount of Olives Hotel
#75 of 99 in Jerusalem
107 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#58 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#87 of 99 in Jerusalem
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaplan Hotel
#59 of 99 in Jerusalem
144 reviews
The 7 Arches Hotel
#71 of 99 in Jerusalem
74 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Panorama Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 19768, Jerusalem 97400, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerusalem Panorama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jerusalem Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing