We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Jerusalem, perhaps in Israel”
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Jerusalem, perhaps in Israel”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was staying in the hotel with my wife in the beginning of July 2014 for 2 nights.
I must say that despite the fact there are no balconies, the room was amazing: New, clean, big, great bathroom facilities (transparent shower, nice!).
The view from the rooftop restaurant - exhilarating !
Breakfast was amazing, though Kosher.
As I'm not from Jerusalem, I don't know the city that well (to say the least) and the staff of the front desk where extremely helpful, recommended a great restaurant and chique bar!
Especially I must commend and compliment Linoy from the concierge: Such a lovely young lady, smiles all the time, talkative and intelligent. She gave us great recommendations and helped us with what stuff to do. Thanks Linoy (also for the lovely short-history lesson)! :)

A few drawbacks - There's no outside pool, no free parking (sucks), Wi-Fi signal goes on and off (let's try using more routers eh?)

Bottom line - Great Place, great service, great food. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Ari D,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay thanks to the design and location of the hotel. We greatly appreciate your recognition of Linoy of our host team who made your stay so much more enjoyable. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    297
    114
    58
    49
See reviews for
356
553
79
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is immaculate and the service was phenomenal! Do not miss going to The Rooftop restaurant & The Mamilla Cafe!!!Both the rooftop restaurant and our room displayed spectacular views of Jerusalem!!!! We will hopefully return soon!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are very happy to read that you had a phenomenal stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We will for sure visit again and we would only stay at Mamilla. Loved the location, loved the food, great hotel, incredible concierge, staff was fantastic, very helpful - can't rave enough.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnatodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Donnatodd4,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mamilla hotel. We are very happy to read that you love your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very well located as it is close to Old City. New outdoor mall area behind hotel is nice and very accessible. Roof top bar and restaurant are great. Good views abound. Service at rooftop is spotty at best, but worth going to for sure. Breakfast choices are very nice. Room is decent size and has glass partition to bathroom that is a bit odd, but with a switch flip it goes opaque. Hard to figure out light switches. Shower is open so water goes everywhere. Doors to rooms open out. Reasonably quiet rooms. AC is good. To be honest, there are some odd features that make the rooms a bit odd to use, but overall the hotel rates good and is well located. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bar service is a bit slow. Free Wifi goes by floor and is unreliable at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear mike215,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are pleased to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us improve our product. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and provide you with we aim or which is a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Fantastic design, excellent food, and amazing location. Unquestionably my favorite hotel in Israel and one of my favorites in the world. Easy access to the old city and to the newer parts of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear mrwynn,
Thank you for your review. We are very proud to be your favorite hotel in Israel and one of your favorites in the world. It is a distinction that we greatly appreciate. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a hotel that should not be missed as it is very close to the Old City with first rate architecture, staff and amenities. We stayed in a suite on the 6th floor, and found the room both attractive and comfortable with an adequate amount of space provided in the walk-in closet for our clothing, and very comfortable seats in the living area. The partition wall "slides" open or closed between the living area and bedroom, and the glass wall between the bedroom and washroom has a magical button to switch between transparent and translucent (i.e. private). The only complaint, if one were to consider it as such, is that the shower is open to the rest of the washroom, and water will spray onto the stone floor of the washroom, which could be a problem if you are not wearing shoes or boots as your socks will get wet if you need to access the water closet.

The shower soaps and shampoos are of the best quality, as are the towels, bed linens and furnishings of the suite.

The complimentary wine and snacks in the room were very good, the ambience in the breakfast room excellent, and service of the hotel staff first rate.

The spa and gym are world class, and should be used as often as possible as the gym is truly a memorable area.

The roof top terrace dining was disappointing, from the moment that our "reservation" was lost, to the poor table we were offered by the entrance, to the sub-standard service and to the poorly cooked food. Our "host" made us a reservation to eat at the terrace dining weeks before our visit, and confirmed the reservation to us upon check in to the hotel. The hostess at the front of the restaurant could not find our reservation on her computer screen, and kept asking if we had another name, which led me to suspect that our reservation had been given away to another party. The entrecote steak I ordered was adequate, but the steak my wife ordered was over-cooked and not acceptable. It sat on my wife's plate for close to an hour, uneaten, until what I believe to be the manager asked if everything was OK. Our server was not to be found from the time the meal was placed before us, with one exception where he asked me but did not ask my wife whether everything was acceptable - and walked away without waiting for a response. When I later politely explained to him privately what he should have done, as a waiter, I do not believe that he was interested in my opinion or advice - which is unfortunate as I have extensive experience and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in world. In fairness to the dining room manager, we were not billed for the uneaten meal, and yet I would recommend against eating at the terrace restaurant unless one wants the view, and is willing to sacrifice the meal. The hotel has several other dining facilities, as does the Mamilla Mall and other luxury hotels in the immediate area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any visitor looking for a first-rate place to stay when visiting Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view, and pay the extra money for a suite as the rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Martin G,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel. We are very happy to read that you had an excellent stay. We greatly appreciate your endorsement and feedback. You feedback allows us to address areas that need our attention. With regards to your experience at the Rooftop, we made sure to share your feedback with the executive chef. We hope that during your next visit to Jerusalem you would give our Rooftop another try.
Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a comfortable and satisfying stay. The hotel is well appointed, clean, with ample facilities. This is not a warm and welcoming hotel: rather on the cool and slick side of things. The room was a good sized with plenty of amenities. The pull away sofa bed was very uncomfortable, while the the main bed was fantastic. If you like very intense shower heads, the rain forest shower is for you. Too harsh for us. Staff was helpful and generally friendly, though we had delays with our check-in. Breakfast was outstanding; table service was first class, while the hosts tended to be quite cold. Location is great to walk to Old Jerusalem. The only draw back for us was that the hotel felt like it could have been placed in any major city in the world without changing anything: very little felt local or particular to the surrounding culture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Front Office Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear ericsf7,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mamilla hotel. We appreciate your thorough feedback. We use it to help us improve our product. We apologize for the delay in checking you in. We would welcome any additional information regarding you check in that may help us pinpoint the reason for the delay.
We hope that you will reconsider us for your next visit to Jerusalem and we will do our best to provide you with a much improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,934 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 99 in Jerusalem
986 reviews
Inbal Jerusalem Hotel
#3 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,740 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Property: Mamilla Hotel
Address: 11 Shlomo ha-Melekh, Jerusalem 9418238, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing