We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, family friendly, great breakfast, reasonable price”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband, son (then age 6) and I stayed at this Hotel a couple years ago (Christmas 2011). (The dates on trip advisor don't go back that far now, so that's why I checked off April 2012, the earliest choice.) I was just talking about our trip to someone and remembered this place. We really had a lovely stay here and I would highly recommend it for many reasons.

First, the location is terrific. We didn't have a car when we were visiting so would walk back and forth to the Old City of Jerusalem every day (... only a 10 minute walk or so). The hotel is also around the corner (maybe 2 blocks) from the Garden Tomb where Jesus was supposedly buried. It was also walking distance (about 15 minutes walk) to the Palestinian National Theater where we saw a very interesting play (... the owner of the theater speaks English well and offered a summary translation for me at the end.)

This hotel was perfect for a family because we had a little suite with a large room that could be curtained off from a sitting area that had a twin bed in it as well as a couch and coffee table. Our son slept there and liked having his own little room. We hung our stockings from the doorknobs of the closets in that room and opened our Christmas presents there.

The man at the front desk was sooo helpful. We wanted to go to Bethlehem on Christmas morning and he printed out for us the flyer with the free shuttle service schedule offered by the Palestinian authority. (We shared a taxi with other tourists to get to the location where the shuttle picked up.) Bethlehem was only an hour or two away and was fascinating.

The man at the front desk also gave us information about when there were plays offered at the Palestinian National Theater and he told us about a wonderful Palestinian bookstore that was just a block away. (I teach political science and have assigned to my students two of the great books the bookstore recommended to me about the Palestine/Israel conflict: The Palestine Israel Conflict, A Basic Introduction, by Gregory Harms (excellent objective history) and Sharon and My Mother-in-Law: Ramallah Diaries, by Suad Amiry (a Palestinian professor). The person in the bookstore spent about an hour with me and my husband explaining the history of the region to us while showing us maps and books.)

We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at this hotel. Our 6 year old was a picky eater, but there was a good selection so we each found things we loved to eat. The breakfast room was light-filled and there were private tables. We ended up making friends a couple mornings with guests at neighboring tables and we then shared taxi cabs with them going up to the Mount of Olives.

The hotel itself was clean, safe, and had all the basic necessities. There's an elevator for carrying luggage up flights. Our room had an enormous window to look out which was nice for light and could also be curtained off at night.

There is a nice spice shop about 100 yards from the hotel on the corner (.. I would get wonderful dried ginger there.) There are lots of other shops nearby as well and a little photo/camera shop if you need passport photos.

We booked this hotel on booking.com and that worked well. We ended up staying there right before Christmas, then we stored our bigger luggage there while we took the train to Tel Aviv, then a bus to Sea of Galilea, a bus back to Jerusalem, then stayed at this hotel again for a couple more nights.

We were very happy with this hotel and were sad to leave after being there a week or so. This vacation was a once-in-lifetime experience for us and this hotel was like our home away from home.

Room Tip: If you are a small family, ask for the suite with the sitting room. It worked great for us: privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bird2song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

me my wife and my 2 sons stay in capitol hotel for 4 nights , we were very lucky to meet nice staff and management we feel at home , the rooms are very big specially family room its a kind of suite
.the staff are there to help and they explain everything we need, the hotel is 5 minutes walk to herod s gate , ,and another 8 minutes to damascus gate , its very convinient for the old city tour
markets is within 5 minutes as well ,
the breakfast buffet was by far the best breakfast we had in israel , a lot of variety , and the chef mr mohammad can cook for you a great omelettes , thank s mohammad for your kindness .
i would like to thank Mr nasri for his professional assistance to us they book taxi for us and book a bus for all of us online to eilat .
great place to be .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel was very close to the old city Jerusalem & it was a 5 minute walk to get to Damascus gate. There were many banks & eating out takeaways on the same street. The room was a good size but very cold. The staff were very polite & helpful. The breakfast was a basic but the hotel was clean & we had a good stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its closeness to the old city, Rockefeller Museum, Garden Tomb and walkable to the Mount of Olives, City of David and west Jerusalem. There are also numerous Arabic shops and restaurants nearby. Otherwise, not much else is up to modern tourist standards (for westerners at least) and many of their listed features are misleading:

"Each room is furnished with a mini-bar, cable TV, IDD telephone, and Internet access."
- Does an empty mini-fridge classify as a mini-bar? Not to me.
- Cable TV was a grand total of TWO stations, RAI (Italian) plus a shopping channel - which after 11 pm SHOCKINGLY turns into a PORN movie ad channel (with the good parts blurred out); so that means basically NO in room TV (unless you understand Italian or like porn movie ads). When I complained about TV choice, they said the system is being worked on and we may have more channels later today (after 48 hours - no new channels); what a disaster and terribly misleading
- NO internet access of any kind possible except in the lobby ... another major misleading feature

"Other thoughtful amenities include a room safe, luggage rack, and writing desk & chair."
- no in room safe
- the luggage rack is used for the mini-fridge as its table, so that is useless
- the tiny desk had a tiny stool (no chair)

"To make your stay even more enjoyable, welcome drinks and fresh fruit plates are provided. Complimentary breakfast is served as well."
- absolutely no hint of welcome drinks or fresh fruit offered to me or any other guest; why do they make this up?

Other comments:
- the furnishings are 100 years out of date and very tacky/stale
- the towels are cardboard
- the soap is the tiniest sliver which is impossible to use for a shower (bring your own real soap)
- the halls, restaurant and public areas are need of maintenance and repairs all over the place (although not exactly falling down, I have seen much worse elsewhere)
- same goes for the rooms, being in terrible shape (paint peeling, electric sockets/switches falling apart, drapes torn, etc.)
- I was brought to my room by some husky, sloppy worker who acted as bell hop (which I didn't need or wanted) who spoke no English - a rather shocking and odd first impression; I little found out he also cleaned/made up the rooms so he was doing double duty
- breakfast was quite OK with pancakes, hard boiled eggs, mini hot dogs, fruit, watery juices, bread and jam, hot mlk, tea but no REAL coffee (just instant - gross!)
- large screen lobby TV with only 2 English channels (BBC News and a movie channel MAX) and numerous Arabic channels which the owners/employees like to watch
- the Bar/Coffee Shop looks pretty good from the door but never went inside - I didn't think they deserved my patronage
- cleanliness in the room was adequate
- value is poor with all these issues

Long and short - stay away. There are many alternatives both close and farther away from the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hallo, I stayed often in Jerusalem and know some of the hotels there.I really did not like the place and also the part where the hotel is. Better pay a bit more and stay in a nicer place. The breakfast is very basic. The rooms etc not nice. To me it is strange that they don´t give a better breakfast and don´t invest money in the hotel to make it nicer. There are worse places in Jerusalem, but for the price they charge: not worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location. Less than 5 minutes walk to Damascus gate and near restaurants and shops and a fruit market. Our room was clean with a balcony, which was just perfect. It is situated in the Arab part of the city so it can be a bit noisy with some specific smell, but you can not avoid it in Jerusalem.
We did not find the staff very friendly and helpful. I asked them where I could get some wine and they said that in this part of the city only in their bar which was not true. We found a shop selling alcohol just 10 minutes walk from the hotel in Navrouz road, twice cheaper than in their bar. It spoilt the impression a bit. But all in all we enjoyed our stay and I would recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrinaPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed for vacation in Jerusalem for the weekwnd .
The staff is very kind , speak arabic , english , french , hebrow !!
The rooms are spaceous
The breakfast is excellent
I highly recommend this hotel for tourist coming to hotel to the old city

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dominika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#75 of 101 in Jerusalem
247 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 101 in Jerusalem
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Metropole Hotel
Jerusalem Metropole Hotel
#94 of 101 in Jerusalem
42 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 101 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: 17 Salah Eddin St. | P.O.Box 19459, Jerusalem 9119302, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $86 - $1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem’s consider a truly rewarding experience and visit Jerusalem and The Holy Land, and witness with your own senses the places where the monumental events of the Old & New Testament took place, a land not of rocky ruins, but great historical areas and archeological wonder. For a most convenient Central Location in the heart of East Jerusalem the Capitol Hotel is ideally located two minutes walk from the ancient and loved Walls & Gates of Jerusalem, The Mount Of Olives, Mount Zion and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing