We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy dirty and small rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dingy dirty and small rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived at the hotel it looked good from out side however when we received the keys, then call for the elevator it could not even fit 3 people. Got to the room it was small dirty with 3 little bed for 3 of the seven dwarft from snow white and the seven dwarft. Came back down to the front desk and tell the front desk person that the room was not going to work for my friend who is 6ft 3in tall, they did not care and did not want to cancel the reservation. He only wanted to tell us that we would not be getting back our money. This place has a beautiful location but needs a lot of renevotation. I think that they could have been a little more accommodating since we were paying $85 US per night we should at least get something that was worth the price.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Leanardo Hotel it was much better the bed was much bigger and the room size was big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elseta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    49
    29
    21
See reviews for
33
36
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is located in a busy Arabic district near Herodos gate. The location is good for exploring the old town but the hotel itself needs reconstruction. During our stay some reconstruction works were already running, probably it will improve the image and quality in the future. But now the public areas, corridors, elevator were very worn out and walls even dirty. We did not like our room ( it was "economy"). Even if the furniture was new, the walls were still dirty, electricty not up to EU standards, the bed linens not ironed out, looked like they were already used ( believe they wer not ). Bathroom cleanliness fair but facilities need update. No safety box in our room and the door not up to safety standards. We liked the staff in the reception and restaurant - friendly and informative. Breakfast and WiFi OK and once we had a buffet dinner which was good, too. They have nice Palestinian beer. Public parking place is next to the hotel ( extra charge 50ILS per night ) and it is not far to Damascus Gate bus station where you can take the bus to Betlehem. Local restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has a very convenient location - 5 minutes walk to the old town. We went together with her husband. The staff is very friendly, always appealed to him. Not important for us beauty rooms, and the most important thing is to be clean and comfortable. Cleaned every day. The breakfasts are very good. Generally, the next time we go to this hotel it is, if only there were places))).
PS If the hotel staff will read this review, we want to give you many thanks and greetings from Russia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oksana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

free wife availabale ,, buffet breakfast ,, also extra dinner ,, garden ,, bar 24,, room with balcony ,, clean room ,, friendly staff ,, parking near by,, This hotel is located near the old city. In terms of location it's excellent

Room Tip: upper floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TANYA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Construction work causes a lot of noise every morning!! Although stated on the website, definitely not in an quiet street. The street is so short that the noise from the Saladin street is well heard. Especially at night and during Ramadan, when the whole street transforms in a party scene. The rooms are old and the whole hotel needs an upgrade. The old city is close. Also it appears that when you sleep in this hotel you support the Palestinian community. The hotel is full of pro-Palestine flyers and the guestbook mentions things like 'stop the Israeli occupation' and 'free Palestine'. Didn't know that, didn't want to choose a side like this. Overall an average hotel, noisy and a bit overpriced with old rooms and a good location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is located near the old city. In terms of location it's excellent. But the hotel certainly needs a do up. It's very dirty; the dining hall had no air conditioning & having breakfast there was like living in an oven (we were there in July). Worse still, the shower had a shortage of cold shower supply & we were forced to have ultra hot shower everyday when it was 38C outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband, myself and my parents stayed here for 2 nights. The location is good as it is close to the old city. We are a laid back family, HOWEVER we didn't enjoy Capitol Hotel... The hotel was awfully run down, dirty and unkept. The carpet was unvacuumed and dirty, the bathroom door handle was broken, the bathroom smelt like sewage, the aircon was extremely loud (when it worked) the towels were old, the foldout bed was broken, the door handle to the room was difficul to open, the TV was in Arabic only and the remote didn't work. The breakfast was nothing special and the milk was at room temperature. The entrance smelt terribly of gas! Don't waste your money and don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#76 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#72 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: 17 Salah Eddin St. | P.O.Box 19459, Jerusalem 9119302, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem’s consider a truly rewarding experience and visit Jerusalem and The Holy Land, and witness with your own senses the places where the monumental events of the Old & New Testament took place, a land not of rocky ruins, but great historical areas and archeological wonder. For a most convenient Central Location in the heart of East Jerusalem the Capitol Hotel is ideally located two minutes walk from the ancient and loved Walls & Gates of Jerusalem, The Mount Of Olives, Mount Zion and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing