We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in December. The hotel has modern rooms and clean and well decorated.

Easy bus access to the Old City infront of the hotel or you can walk about 12 minutes.

Great staff and very helpfull. Located in the East side of Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaoW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just blocks away from the old walled city this is a great hotel. The daily breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. This hotel is in the Arab section of Jerusalem, that being said there was no issue staying their as a Christian. Religion/Nationality was not reliant, making our stay very enjoyable. I would stay there again when I travel to Israel again.

Rooms were nice and clean and did I mention the food. Excellent.

Room Tip: No pool or gym. No nightlife but very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel is in a noisy street with poor lighting and somewhat unsafe to walk at night. One reviewer sad that this property was close to the Damascus gate - yeah you had to take bus that no a/c and torn seats and more passengers than seats. Condition of room is inadequate no toiletries, shower stall tends to leak (manager suggested adjusting the shower head towards the wall), room was poorly lit. I was promised a king bed but had a double bed instead. We made a booking for 6 nites but ended up checking out after ONE nite. Off course Hotels.com had a non cancellation policy so I guess there goes the money. Manager had the gall to claim that this is the only 4 star rated hotel in East Jerusalem.. oh well .. live and learn

Room Tip: PIck a hotel in West Jerusalem on on the border.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monty264, Manager at Commodore Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Well we are very sorry that your review was not just and fair. And we are sorry that it was based on you not having a refund because you have checked out early!

The hotel is 2 years old. Rooms use power led technology. The amount of lighting (lumen) is according to the israeli standards so it is adequatly lit rooms. All newly built and renovated hotels follow this standard for power saving and according to standards wether it was 1 or 5 star hotels).

You arrived on August 13th at around 6:30 in the morning and our receptionist checked you in at exactly 6:57 am, ie 8 hours before the standard check in time (15:00 hrs) and for FREE and with a BIG smile!

You were given room 301 with big size bed 150 cm width (10 cm less than standard king size bed 160 cm!) and single bed. You went into the room and you saw it and all was well.

Busses to the old city (bus 75) are all new buses :) and all of them are Airconditioned as windows do not open.

Hotel is exactly 1.2 km away from Damascus gate an we think it is close enough that anyone can walk it despite that in some places it is up hill!!

When we said we know the reasons why we left the hotel ... yes we know .. it is the reason you have just written here! 'Pick a hotel in West Jerusalem'! and thats what the taxi driver convinced you to do for some reason!

We thank you for your stay and we hope that you can be just and fair to others next time things dont go your way :)

Looking forward to seeing you again ...

Monty
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

$99/night for a single. I hear that's very good for Jerusalem. 10 minute walk to the Old City. Or you can jump on the white and blue bus that goes by frequently (goes to the bus station that is Golgotha, by Damascus Gate).
POSITIVE: Good 4* room. Good wifi. Very nice bathroom. Great breakfast. Helpful staff.
NEGATIVE: Could be a little cleaner. Cut a few corners here and there (e.g. poor pillows).

Room Tip: Some road noise in front. So request a back room if that's a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockford1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Commodore is, I believe, less than two years old. In fact, construction is still going on above the third floor. So the condition of the room is still pretty good. Though, the shower looked like it has not had a good scrub in those two years, kind of icky stepping into it.

The hotel seemed to be catered to Arab/Muslim guests. While we were there for two nights, the other guests hung there wet laundry on the balcony right above the hotel entrance, underwear and all. What the hell, is this a hotel or an apartment? Also the hotel is located on a busy street and we can hear traffic late into the night.

The location of the hotel is terrible, far from Old City and in the Muslim neighborhood of East Jerusalem. It was pretty sketchy and we did not feel safe walking around at all. There is an Arab run bus that picks up right in front of the hotel to Old City but it is almost always full. So it was pretty inconvenient going to Old City or anywhere else.

Breakfast was sub-standard.

Do yourself a huge favor and make your trip more pleasant by finding a hotel in West Jerusalem!

Room Tip: Find another hotel in West Jerusalem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and the room, breakfast etc were fine if unexceptional. The area is quite noisy and the location isn't the best (nowhere to eat in the evenings, more of a walk to the old city than many would consider ideal although buses and taxis are easy enough). However, the staff were notably friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Logging is very pricey in Jerusalem, thus paying $100/night in a decent place is very good bargain.
Spent 4 nights there around Passover.
Location - not the best (East Jerusalem), but nothing really bad if you are open-minded.
Also except couple $400/night places most of the hotels are like this one.
Taxi to/from Old city was only 40-50 sh (you still need to bargain). I would NOT recommend to use the bus
Rooms - tiny, but clean and with good shower.
Breakfast - plentiful, with non-kosher food too. Usually we need to eat next time only around 3pm.
Internet - worked, but slow in busy hours.
HVAC - central, new, very quiet.
Service - very friendly, most speak good English.

Two cons:
Parking - they claim free parking on-site. In reality it's free parking on the busy street, and not so many free spots there. Still was possible, but difficult sometimes.
Restaurant - NO evening restaurant. The "Rooftop" they mention on the website is closed for reconstruction. And NO place to eat at night in neighborhood either (Arab village). So be warned - eat in the City, or buy some food in a small shop nearby.

Room Tip: top floor (3rd)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
110 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 101 in Jerusalem
710 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 101 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaplan Hotel
#61 of 101 in Jerusalem
154 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 72 Derech E-Tur Shmuel Ben Adaya | AlSawana, Mt Olives, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $71 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened on 15th April 2011, the hotel features 45 luxury guest rooms with modern accommodation facilities in an unmatched boutique style interiors styled in contemporary flares with modern conveniences and modern style furniture including:- Electronic door locks- Air Condition- Telephone- 26" LCD TV with 16 satellite channels- Mini-bar- High speed internet. In addition, our skilled chef provides mix of local, oriental and western delicacies in our open buffet restaurant during lunch and dinner times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing