We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most PATHETIC place ever with the RUDEST Staff ever!! NEW PALM?? ROTTEN PALM!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Fiji Islands
2 reviews
“The most PATHETIC place ever with the RUDEST Staff ever!! NEW PALM?? ROTTEN PALM!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had called to confirm our 3 nights accomodation for 4 couples - 4 double rooms few weeks before we left for Israel. Upon arriving, we were told that our rooms were still occupied by some backpackers who were 'lost' somewhere in Bethlehem and did not check out before they left. Because we were new to Jerusalem and had no clue where else to go, we reluctantly gave in to the suggestion that we stay in a 8 bed dorm. Lo and behold, this 'dorm' was the dirtiest cramped up room I have ever seen in my life, with no ventilation, windows covered with very dirty sheets and no ventilation. Just as we entered, we had carpenters (who smoked inside the already stuffy room never endingly) to try fix a door to the 'open' bathroom and toilet. However, our 8 bed dorm had only 6 beds available because apparently, the other two beds were occupied by another two 'lost' tourists whom were nowhere to be found. Not only was the room stinking and reeking of cigarette by the time we came to bed, but the Receptionist was smoking full time and everything was just too filthy. The next day, ALEX came to explain that we had to either stay in the dorm or be transfered to another hostel (PETRA in Old City). ALEX gave us his long winded explanation about how he could not turn away tourists and how booking online caused problems for him because he made more money with walk ins. I have to say, we did give him a very clear piece of our mind before leaving the place. If you are intending to stay here...you are out of your mind - you will be more stressed and could get sick from such a dirty place. And don't even waste your time talking to ALEX, he tries to make you feel like your money is worth nothing to his excuse of a great business. I don't even think this place deserves even a star - totally ruined the great days we had in Nazareth and Golan Heights. NEW PALM - try rotten Palm Hostel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-RFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    46
    30
    85
See reviews for
16
49
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

When we used the hostels ATM machine to make a cash withdraw, the employees cheated us for nearly 200$, by changing the exchange rate. Afterwards they "lost" the machine on the floor, told us that the connection had failed because of the fall and made us enter our code once more.

We discovered, by coincidence, both scams before returning home and went back and complained to the same employees. However even though they admitted that there had been “a mistake” they wouldn’t give us back all the money. Only by wasting another hour of our holiday complaining were we able to get most of our money back. Later when we returned home we found out that they hadn’t cancelled the second false withdraw as they promised. Our bank however saved us by believing our story and cancelling the cash withdraw.

I wouldn’t recommend this hostel to even the poorest traveller.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bornakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Veneto
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Hostel looks cozy, bizarre the entrance through a fruit shop in front of the Damascus Gate. Nice common area to meet people and use free internet (2 pc available). Free hot drinks. Kind of kitchen also available. Room was dirty, quite small for two and VERY VERY STINKY because of the shower drain... No breakfast. One of the cheapest accomodation in all Jerusalem

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Don't stay at the New Palm Hostel!
There are plenty cheap hostels in this beautiful city, this is not one of them.
Dirty, dark, cold small rooms, hostile management. I booked a room for 5 nights but couldn't take it any more after one sleepless night.
I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyagerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The management of the Palm instantly try to scam all new guests. On my first night I asked for a dorm bed and was told that the dorms where all closed for refurbishment and I would have to have a private room for a huge 300 NIS (dorm beds cost 50 NIS).
Later that evening I discovered that this was a complete lie and in fact there were plenty of free dorm beds. When confronted the manager shrugged and walked off.
Very unpleasant. The shabby dishonesty of the Palm staff is uncharacteristic of Palestine.
The place is dirty and extremely basic. Two toilets between 50 guests.
Even the 50 NIS dorm rate is not cheap considering how little you get for your money.
Any photos of the palm on the net do not show the real hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is the place to stay if you want to have access to all places in jerusalem. Staff are friendly and always willing to help. Place cleaned everyday

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I am staying at this hostel right now. I wanted to meet some friends in Jerusalem who don’t have space to host me and my 5-year old son, and it is nice to have your own room in walking distance to the old and new city. The Palm Hostel is at a messy, busy street with all kinds of small vendors. The shops seem to always be open, and almost at the corner of the street there is a cheap and okay restaurant with falafel, shoarma etc. (Plate of falafel for less than 2 Euro!). I booked a room by internet through hostelworld.com and I am paying the price that was agreed on (45 USD per night for 2 persons in a double room with private bathroom). The rooms are very basic, there aren't even shelves or hooks to put anything on. It's just a bed with walls around it. There are some sheets, blankets and pillows on the bed, but I highly recommend to bring a sleeping bag and/or some bedsheets/pillow covers. But of course you can also ask for these. The receptionists do speak some English and are happy to help you, when they're not on the phone, which they are most of the time. You can ask for things that you miss – like a mirror, a heater, a towel, toiletpaper – and they may bring you. They will also wash your laundry for 7 Euro per load. But what they say will be fixed in 1 hour may take a day or even longer. Some things you may get faster by yourself in a store, like a divider to use more than 1 electric item at a time. The private bathroom is the size of a toilet with a small sink, the shower is a handset plus a hole in the floor, next to the toilet. Water is nice and warm. The rooms can be locked on the inside and on the outside with a key. There's definitely no tv in the rooms, but there is in the lobby, which also offers free tea and coffee. There are 2 computers to use for free, and there is wifi (you get the password for free) but if you're staying in a room upstairs (which are smaller, but newer and slightly less noisy) you have to walk out of the room in order to use wifi on your laptop. If you put your laptop on the dryer, you have great access. From the airport right at the main exit you can take a shared Nesher taxi 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you pay only 10 Euro. They will bring you to the door. Make sure you don't drag your luggage upstairs to the wrong hostel, like I did, because there are 2 hostels right next to each other, and you may want to enter the hostel that you have booked. The rooms are rather noisy, you hear the noise from the street as well as the noise from other guests - so bring earplugs - but there are some quiet hours at night.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoshanaSuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 67 in Jerusalem
222 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#21 of 67 in Jerusalem
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jerusalem Hotel
#26 of 60 in Jerusalem
17 reviews
New Metropole Hotel
#18 of 67 in Jerusalem
20 reviews
Leticia Guest House
#47 of 60 in Jerusalem
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing