We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location - But Unconventional Hotel/Hostel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Oldenburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - But Unconventional Hotel/Hostel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Time of Stay:July / August 2010. About 2 weeks with discontinuations.

What I expected: A nice and friendly hostel, cozy with places to hang out with other travelers, to have a chat and a drink over the experiences we have made during the day. The price per night is pretty cheap so I did expect a decent hostel with decent cleaniness standards.

What I got: Nice, friendly and helpful stuff. If I or my companions needed any assistance, new linen (because they “forgot” to exchange them) or anything else they helped out and did their job. Of course some things you can usually expect without asking but this is not the case all the time (especially during Ramadan the staff was more tired and sleepy during the day, but that is understandable).

Since I stayed a couple of nights I could bargain the room price, this was part of the charm.
The New Palm Hotel and Hostel is divided in two parts, where I usually stayed in the Hotel part, but for the price some others paid in the hostel part.
The "hotel" is much cleaner and nicer since the en-suite bathrooms are not shared with the whole hostel.
The bathrooms and toilets in the hostel part are more or less dirty and you need a little bit sense of humor to use them. When I stayed there one sink (in the toilets) was completely broken and the lights were not working (well that was all the time ;)).

The public areas were really nice and comfortable with lots of cushions, couches and places to hang out and chat with other travelers (inside and outside areas).

During the day the owner turned off the air conditioning (also in rooms without windows) in order to save electricity. You have to push him a little bit to turn them on again, especially if you want to have a nap during the day or you want to escape the outside heat. If you ask the cleaning staff you can even use the laundry machine (don't be shy). There are also 2 (or 3) computer with internet connection. Slow but good enough.

The location was perfect, really close to the Old Town of Jerusalem with the best view on the life of the locals. The entrance(s) of the hotel/hostel are located in a small market area were you can find a lot of local food and sometimes see how the lamb-delivery falls to the ground and no one cares about it getting dirty.

All together I believe that the location of the hostel is a big plus point and if you want to have a better experience make sure you can sleep in the hotel part (also dorms are available there). Don't be shy and bargain about the prices and tell the people if you want to have some changes. Some happen, some don't. But don't worry, if you're relaxed and able to take things as they are you can have the best time in Jerusalem ever. If you have a problem with dirt - never forget your flip-flops. And to be honest, you will be outside most of the time anyhow.

Oh and before I forget. You can book a few tours in the hostel. In our case the driver didn't show up so the hostel owner drove us around. We were stopped by the police one time because he was almost falling asleep when driving (after that we all tried to keep him awake and talk with him) and during the stops he slept in the car. Nvertheless, it was quite an experience and we got back to the hostel all save. (And we haven't lost our humor about it ;))
(To his defense: It was Ramadan and he couldn't eat and drink during the day.
Better: Make only tours if it is not Ramadan ;) ).

As you can see, my votings aren't very high but I hadn't big expectiations and that helped too make it a good experience ;)

If you want to have more comfort and cleanliness in the sleeping / bathroom areas you should chose another place.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room ar the hotel part of the hotel/hostel. If you book in person you can bargai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaFroehlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    45
    28
    81
See reviews for
15
45
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

i jusr recently returned from my trip to jerusalem israel on oct 22-oct28. and have stayed at the new palm hotel and hostel it has a old history from around the 1930's building awesome place and the staff are so delightful and so warm and sweet people. they are israeli/palestinian people and they love everyone. this hostel is 100% cleaness daily breakfast daily free. coffee tea all free and tv to watch movies. socialize. has a patio you can smoke outside and also staff also offers tours. to different places can book any of them.the rooms are arabic decor on beds very very comforable.i have been so delighted to have been a guest there. Ali i believe was the manager there he treated me like family and said make sure you watch out and be careful, this area is very very safe in israel i have had no trouble with anyone there no robbing or attacks or anything this is the safest country to visit and they are 100% friendly.so if you go there mention my name bobby harris they will remember and i recommend this hostel. i do in my heart think they should be trip adviser member for the hostel. this is a fine place any of you will have no trouble at all this place is also on bus route. and lightrail trains which has only one train is the L1 and goes to mt.herzl and back to the hostel i have done rating on this, and worked on this as hard as i can. i 100% recommend this hostel in place of others that are not as clean as this one is.. this hostel is a fine location and a fine place to be. if you do go plan ahead and book your room as this one does and can get booked up and full by then, one last thing to bring up guest who stay there are friendly and love to chat and meet with others and talk about israel and where they are from try it out you wont be sorry or regret it i had no regrets i love this place and the staff and there is also a palestinian resturant right next door called Al-Ayed resturant great food and things to eat if you eat there please be couteous. if you eat french fries thats english say chips means french fries. they will know what you want.ii had a great time there i would have stayed longer to make a high rating for it overall next time i shall do that. great people i loved being there miss it already and them the staff too. thank you for a memorable stay

Room Tip: if you plan to stay there just be sure to lock your laptop computers in your suitcase or in safe pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjoe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've stayed 3 days in the new Palm Hostel, and enjoyed it very much. There is plenty of common space to meet and talk with other travellers and the palestinian staff. You can use the kitchen, drink free coffee and tea and use the fast s-dsl internet. How can someone write a bad review? I only saw luckey tourists and travellers there.
It is very near to the damascus gate (Old City) and three important bus stations, where you easely find busses to to all directions in Israel and the Westbank.

George, from Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very run down building but this is the standard of all the buildings in this area. The room was a reasonable size but the mattress was very old, and so the bed linen. The (all male) staff were attentive and trying really hard to build their business up. Its certainly not luxurious but if you're willing to have a bit of an adventure...the location is second to none.

Room Tip: Try and ensure you have a window that opens to the outside, not into another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Friendly staff, nice hotel, nice simple room - good for the price I paid, and in walking distance of Damascus gate! Right next to a few shops, and cafe so ideal if you are on your own. If you are looking for somewhere convenient I would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank aad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is in the best possible location, almost opposite the Damascus Gate to the Old City. It is budget accommodation taken to the extreme. The tiniest room possible, and a tiny window opening onto a stairwell.
Nights do get cold in Jerusalem and they do not provide sufficient blankets to keep warm.
The breakfast was fine, buffet style so I filled up for the morning.
A big worry was the feral cats in the corridor defending their territory. That made me wary of passing by in the dark.
It was good value for money but I could not have stayed any more than the two days I had booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paragonwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

First of all their location is the best thing we can say,
very near to the Damascus gate so you can enter the
old city around fifteen minutes. Rooms are small,
breakfasts are OK. But the house keeping is terrible
also the rooms are not clean and my room was airless
because there was not real window. But to tell the truth
in this city, it is not easy to find an budget accomodation
just want to say little better than an dormitory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
The Post Hostel
#4 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#8 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#21 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Christian Quarter
Al Arab Hostel
Al Arab Hostel
#46 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing