We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not on a budget there is better around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you're not on a budget there is better around!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a basic hostel with no delusions of grandeur! The beds are adequate but the hostel is very dirty and the kitchen leaves a lot to be desired, it lacks utensils and is very dirty. The toilet hasn't been cleaned for a long time, as for the shower it's typical of the cheaper hostels and resembles a hose as it has no clip to hold it in place.

If you require a bed only and intend to be outside most of the day then you won't find it to bad. Otherwise for 10-25NIS more you can find better accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vedrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    46
    30
    85
See reviews for
16
49
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for a week in January 2011 and found it value for money.Good location to old city and buses to o ther parts of city and buses to bethlehem.I found the dorms to be satisfactory for the price and a the lounge area a quiet place to chill out .I have no complaints about this hostel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nanny-goat-gruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location is great, just outside the Damascus gate and right aross the road from the city tram station of the same name ans also the bus station that will get you to Bethlehem. We heard before that the staff can be a little abrupt and this was true but they were certainly not rude, just a little preoccupied. Our room was pretty shabby but it was clean as were the sheets. I'm sure you can find better options but some of the other more popular places we looked at with in the old city had equally as unfriendly staff. We left before breakfast so I can't comment on this

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After reading the awful reviews on here, we decided we didn't want to stay, however, our 1st choice was fully booked, and trying to keep within our budget we decided as it was only for 1 night we could cope. Just as the other reviewers say, it is horrid & dirty! We stayed in the all female dorm, which was only us in there. The dorm and sheets weren't clean. The window didn't shut properley so letting in the cold, as we had a pick of beds, we took more blankets to keep warm. The shared bathrooms/toilets were vile. The owner/staff weren't friendly, which after coming from Jordan, was a bit of a shock. The only positive was the location as it is very close to the olf city, shops, ATMs, cafes etc & free access to the internet. If you're planning on staying more than 1 night, I would pay extra and stay somewhere nicer. Felt the rate reflects only the location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyaRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You are asked to pay more than when you booked it when you arrive. Showers are terrible, dirty rooms and sheets and it is supposed to offer breakfast but it only offers some bread and yogurt. Terrible choice to go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harp0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Room: Disgusting
Bathroom and Showers: Broken
Location: Moderate, close to old city but city center a bit far
Worth my Money: NOT AT ALL

I have heard from friends of other hostels that are a few dollars more and decided to be stingy and go for price. I should have spent the few extra dollars and would have been in a better location, had nicer facilities and a lot more comfortable. THE HOTEL WAS HORRIBLE!!!

The only good thing I can say about it, the service people were nice. Other than that, DO NOT... I REPEAT DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the right place to go to visit living HELL during your stay in Jerusalem. They simply rely on the location to the old city expecting tourists to book anyhow. They call every single guest "my family" but reality is worse than prisoners in the U.S. Sleeping in a freaking cold room & smelling filthy bathroom with no concept of service guide you to the living hell that will teach you a lesson, which is

"review what others commented before considering budget & location"

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gentile00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#48 of 101 in Jerusalem
230 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#21 of 67 in Jerusalem
59 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 67 in Jerusalem
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jerusalem Hotel
#25 of 60 in Jerusalem
17 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#8 of 67 in Jerusalem
361 reviews
Leticia Guest House
#47 of 60 in Jerusalem
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing