We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Pilsen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Excellent location. Very helpfull staff. They willingly solved problem with our reservation, that appeared solely by MY falut, even though it meant a loss for them, just to make us happy. Nice house and interior. I would definetely reccomend it for those who want to get to know local atmospehere and manners and people.

But it has its cons also: It could be cleaner (not relevant for bacpacker equipped with sleeping bag) and it is near busy corssroad which means a lot of noise starting from morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JendaWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    45
    28
    83
See reviews for
16
47
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed one night at the New Palm Hotel. It is conveniently located but is located a noisy market area. There is a hostel area which may be a bargain for backpackers, but we were in a room which was small and lacked linens. When we asked they gave us sheets and 2 towels. The private bath was tiny with a very small sink and with no shower curtain so water would be everywhere! Breakfast was very basic Nescafe / tea. btw We did try to negotiate a lower price, but they refused.
We left and went to a much better hotel in the old city for less money! Plus a great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

They literally stole us. They tangled my brother and he has fallen. they charged us a ridiculously high commissions. The manager and staff are very rude, they are people uneducated. There are dirty cats everywhere inside the hostel. The breakfast is included, but they make it stupid, because in the morning in the breakfast area there is nothing!!! they give you something if you go to ask at reception, but ofcourse, very bad shape!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The New Palm Hostel is a very nice place, a meeting point of cultures. In the meantime, it became a "must" for travelers from all countries to pay a visit, at least for one night. The hostel offers shared and private rooms, a lobby, a TV room and a kitchen with a fridge and utilities. The price/quality rate is the best among hostels in this area. These are a balcony and a terrace to sit outside. Most rooms have a view on the Old city. The hostel is located directly on Damascus gate, so you won't need to walk far to the Western Wall or any other sightseeing in the old city. The atmosphere in the hostel is liberal. There are shared rooms, so you don't have to split, if you come as a group. Every evening people meet for a conversation in the lobby, which go till late after midnight. By the way: tea and coffee are unlimited free. I had a great time in this hostel and would recommend it to everyone, especially to adventures.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middle_east_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have been in Egypt for one month and now in Israel for a few days. This has been one of the nicest rooms I have had the entire stay. (double private-ensuite). Others have promised. This one delivered. 3min walk to Damascus gate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnewmanium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Thsi hostel is a great point especially if you're going ot do a lot of day trips. All the buses leave right outside and it's right at the Damascus gate. Great common area, nice staff and excellent wi-fi. A large amount of rooms too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tal-El Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

The rooms are dirty (understatement), it is questionable whether the sheets and pillow cases had been changed before us,the room was so small we had literally to step on our bags if we wanted to take our feet off the bed ( or put the bags-1 per person) on the bed, the door handle came off, the a/c didn't work, no windows, the entrance is a totally black alley, dirty and stinky.Our friends in the next room had the same experience. The breakfast cook had a tb soundining cough, would cough in his hand then proceed to cut the vegetables...all this and it is relatively expensive. Totally gross.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyPerlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#74 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
The Jerusalem Hostel
#8 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Post Hostel
#5 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#20 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Hotel & Hostel

Property: New Palm Hotel & Hostel
Address: 4-6 Ha'Nevi'im St | Damascus gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Palm Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your New Palm Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palm Hotel Jerusalem
New Palm Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing