We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is cheap but still overpriced for what you get!! It's located about 10 mins walking from Damascus gate (old city) which is a filthy part of town :-( Its located on a back street (not easy to find) and there is thrash everywhere. We even saw huge rats running about on the street outside the hotel! Rooms are very basic with old style furniture and tiny bathrooms, The first room they gave us had not been cleaned since the previous occupants so we had to ask for a different room! The new room was at least clean with good air con unit but bedding (pillows) were very old! This hotel probably does not meet safety standards as we noticed some emergency exits and hallways were blocked. Breakfast was very basic and tasteless. We had booked for 2 nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quraan, General Manager at New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Ms. Jennie,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your feelings.We simply had to question wether indeed you had reviewed the right hotel, with our utmost effort, we could hardly recognize ourselves. It is always a regret if a guest feels that we have fallen short in any way, and highly unusual. The incident you described, is so unprecedented that we remember it well. We had managed to upgrade your room category, hence during peak season it is less possible for us to upgrade even our important returing guests. Having noted some of you other standerous reviews for other establishments, the entrance to the hotel is always clean, please note that the hotel is located on a busy street. Our team of professionals, especially in the dining area, have been delighting guests with their warmth and hospitality for many many years, while the chef and his team have been commended by many local and foreign organizations, your comments are simply not in line with any that have ever been received. Perhaps there is just no pleasing some guests.

With king regards,
Azzam Esmail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms are old but there is a new TV in each room and everything else is great. The hotel includes breakfast and dinner and the food is awesome. It really spoiled me when I went to other cities I realized how good I had it. The manager is a really nice guy and he is very caring and offers to help if he sees you need something. The staff really makes your visit. The location makes everything really convenient. There is a bus and rail station nearby and you can go anywhere in Israel or the West Bank. Also, all the major sites are in walking distance. Any feelings I had about the room being old went away after the first day. When I went to the American colony hotel to eat lunch the staff was ridiculously rude and we waited forever for even our drinks. The other nearby hotels had everything over priced, water was twice as much in 2 of them. I really recommend this hotel, I had a better experience here than several other travelers I met had at their hotel.

Room Tip: The fancier seeming hotels are awful when you arrive, this is a way better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location was very good in east very close to herod and damascus gate. Busy atmospheric neighbourhood, with some not obvious but surprisingly pleasant restaurants/cafes around. It was one of the few decent hotels near the old city on the price range. Breakfast just ok . I certainly would stay there again given location and clean enough.
The rooms are odd looking and old, so the initial impression is a bit strange as you might think it's not clean, however it's just the old style of it, as the rooms and bathroom were clean. If you're looking for flashy place it's is not. It's a simple very convenient located hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are on a very tight budget, you can stay here for $70 a night. The location is pretty good - close to the Old City. The manager is pretty friendly, but that's about it. The rooms are very old and not cleaned well. The bathroom was in rough condition - old and dirty. The breakfast was so-so, and they charged for bottled water vs. the free orange Kool-aid they put out for guests. There were a bunch of Russian tourists there elbowing their way through the breakfast buffet, so my guess is they cater to the busload crowd who might be used to budget traveling and poor conditions. Would only stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InspiredDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

i did not enjoy my stay at all rooms are not clean very bad service employ's not friendly at all its bad that also the hotel close to a school every time they ring the bell in school you can hear it like its next to you, i ate dinner and i got sick next day sorry but very bad hotel need to work on your service and food and the price is way expensive for the service i wont give it more than $20 per day

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank none n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm just back from a weekly trip in Israel and had 2 nights at Victoria. At $55 per night per room you get a lot more than what you pay for: a free garage, a very friendly, english speaking, personnel, a decent (small) room, a decent (small) bathroom and a superb location, 5' away from Herod's gate and 10' from Damascus'. Any other hotel I checked in the area was 2x the price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ale929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

DONT!!

We stayed here as it was the cheapest hotel just to put head down shower and leave next day. at $80 a night.

after a long day travelling from egypt arrived at 7 pm but rooms are small cramped dated - bathroom is tiny - can hardly stand in the shower.

jerusalems good hotels are very dear - so only book this if on a shoe string budget OR like us half a day of usage only, should have stayed where we stayed last time.

second time in jerusalem and would recommend another budget hote that is 10 times nicer just a 2 mins along the road - THE HOLY LAND HOTEL - book there and pay a little more maybe $140 a night - hotel ismuch bigger / better / cleaner / rooms are much more spacious and warm!!

sorry bu unfortunatley a VER dissapointing hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MominRabbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#81 of 102 in Jerusalem
165 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 102 in Jerusalem
196 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 102 in Jerusalem
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
#66 of 102 in Jerusalem
243 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 102 in Jerusalem
232 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#78 of 102 in Jerusalem
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing