We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel - only if on a really really tight budget!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed December 29, 2012

DONT!!

We stayed here as it was the cheapest hotel just to put head down shower and leave next day. at $80 a night.

after a long day travelling from egypt arrived at 7 pm but rooms are small cramped dated - bathroom is tiny - can hardly stand in the shower.

jerusalems good hotels are very dear - so only book this if on a shoe string budget OR like us half a day of usage only, should have stayed where we stayed last time.

second time in jerusalem and would recommend another budget hote that is 10 times nicer just a 2 mins along the road - THE HOLY LAND HOTEL - book there and pay a little more maybe $140 a night - hotel ismuch bigger / better / cleaner / rooms are much more spacious and warm!!

sorry bu unfortunatley a VER dissapointing hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MominRabbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

One of the more reasonably priced hotels inJerusalem, handy location near Old City, neighborhood is busy but very quiet at night. Evening we took a taxi into the new city to eat etc and a taxi back , although one taxi driver wouldn't go to East Jerusalem. Breakfast nothing special but perfectly adequate. Do not stray into Mea Shearim which is 15 minutes walk away.....unless you are dressed very conservatively! We visited in November 2012, a very tense time to be in Israel but we had no problems whatsoever. Jerusalem seems quite dead at night but actually has lots of stuff going on, you just have to do some homework and ask around. Everyone should visit this city at least once in their life, incredible and unforgettable place.

Room Tip: Be polite and friendly even if they can't help ,they may have cancellations. our room had no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed for a total of eight nights at the Victoria Hotel (sometimes called the New Victoria Hotel) in October 2012. Hotel accommodation in Jerusalem is pricey on the whole and I thought that the Victoria offered pretty good value for money (I paid 65 USD per night for bed and breakfast). The hotel seems to cater more for large groups of pilgrims (many of them Russian) than for individual travelers.

The location of the hotel in downtown East Jerusalem is good, being only five minutes' walk from Herod's Gate, one of the many entrances to Old City - though not a main one). There is a first-rate museum close to the hotel – the Rockefeller Museum, which I would strongly recommend visiting, as it contains some wonderful artefacts, including 8th century wooden beams and panels from Al-Aqsa Mosque, marble lintels from the Church of the Holy Sepulchre dating from the Crusader era and reassembled stucco decorations from Hisham's Palace, an 8th century AD Ummayad hunting lodge in Jericho. The area in which the hotel is located is rather run-down and litter-strewn - but perfectly respectable and safe, though somewhat deserted late at night.

The staff were pleasant and courteous. My room (at the back of the hotel) was quiet with ample storage space. The bed was comfortable, although I found the pillows rather hard. The air-conditioning was efficient, although I didn't need to use it very often. Free wi-fi Internet was available in room and it worked well most of the time. There was a bath (with a plug!) and hot water most of the time. There was also satellite TV with a reasonable range of channels (though mostly in Arabic). The room had a small balcony - but the view wasn't that great. The breakfast was adequate – but became rather boring after a while, with the same offerings every day. There are two good and reasonably-priced restaurants (Philadelphia and Azzahra) just round corner, both of them licensed.

Any quibbles I have are fairly minor ones. The public areas of the hotel (with the exception of the reception area) are a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment: the carpet outside my room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since the British Mandate ended! It would have been nice to have had a small fridge in the room - though there was a large one in the breakfast room next door, which I used from time to time. I also found the lighting in the room rather harsh. The shower had to be hand held when in use as it could not be properly secured: on more than one occasion, the bathroom got more of a soaking than I did!

I would certainly stay at the Victoria Hotel again and recommend it to travelers who are on a fairly tight budget. I found it a convenient and comfortable base for exploring what it one of the world's great cities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was the second time for me in the New Victorie Hotel, and I was very sutisfied again.
Quite clean hotel, very nice staff and good food.
Wifi very fast and available (for free) in the whole structure.
Very good position, close to Damascus gate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pilxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First impressions: Judging from the ordinary-looking facade, I wasn't quite sure what was "new" about the New Victoria Hotel. Perhaps, it's under new management? Averaging between 55 British Pounds (low season) to about 100 British Pounds per night (deluxe suite at peak season), this is relatively cheap for its 3-star rating. Grade B.

Pros: Location... location... location is a big plus. This hotel is a mere 5-minute walk to Herod's Gate or 10 minutes to Damascus Gate of the Walled Old City of Jerusalem and, if you wish to bus it up to the Mount of Olives, an 8-minute walk to the bus station. Rooms are decent enough, not too shabby. A buffet breakfast, A/C and WiFi access are complimentary. Desk service is friendly, speaks English and are accommodating. They can arrange airport transfers for you. Rates are of good value for what you get.

Cons: For all of its excellent location, the hotel is not easy to find. I had to carry a map around to help me get back. The hotel is tucked away inside an Arab neighborhood, whose shops close and streets grow dark too early in the evening. The A/C (or heater) is a hit-or-miss affair. And the free breakfast can get monotonous in a hurry. Lastly, despite what the receptionist tells you, reserve a space for airport transfers the day before.

Verdict: This is a hotel meant for non-fussy budget travellers, looking only for a place to sleep --- nothing more. Excellent value for what you get. Anything cheaper and you're looking at youth hostels. I would not necessarily discourage you from choosing this hotel, just don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

East Jerusalem is a Muslim quarter with everything what belongs to it... Allthough we never felt in danger even in the evening with the kids. At night (after 9 p.m.) the quarter is empty and quiet.
The position is really good - 5 minutes from Herods Gate and 10 minutes walk from Damascus Gate and the Bus terminal
The staff at the reception was extremely helpful and friendly. I was not very happy with the breakfast - the choise was very poor (e.g.arabic bread only).
We had a problem with the final payment - the credit card machine seemed not to be working, so my husband had to pick up cash from the ATM. The lady at the reception offered to cover our extra bank costs for the cash pick up - so we were happy at the end.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radetzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Decent rooms, although the heating is almost non existing (even during winter).
Quite clean. Very friendly and good staff.
Very good location, 5 miniutes from Damascus gate.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
4  Thank ebben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 100 in Jerusalem
175 reviews
American Colony
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
Grand Park Hotel Jerusalem
#66 of 100 in Jerusalem
252 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#57 of 100 in Jerusalem
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaplan Hotel
#60 of 100 in Jerusalem
155 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
735 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#79 of 100 in Jerusalem
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 8 Al-Massudi Street | P.O.Box 19374, Jerusalem 19374, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing