We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable food and atmosphere”
Review of Nafoura

Nafoura
Ranked #32 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Armenian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Nafoura Restaurant is located inside the old city's Jaffa Gate adjacent to the old old city wall and in the heart of trh christian Quarter,Nafoura sprawls gracefully over almost quarter acre of dining areas with archaeological columns ,gardens and fountains. The concept behind the Nafoura Restaurant is to provide a tranquil haven for visitors of the Old City away from the noise and the bustle of the bazaars.Opened all week except sundays. Barbecue night every thursday for special meats ,chickens ,and fish .From six till ten (summer time only)
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our tour group went to this restaurant one night, and it was a lovely experience. The atmosphere is relaxed and both the dining room and the outside dining are lovely areas to eat in. Staff were helpful with our questions about the food, and we were well-attended. I would definitely return next time I'm in Jerusalem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    91
    32
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best middle eastern food in town!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were in the old city of Jerusalem , we looked for a place to eat and found the Nafoura restaurant near Jaffa gate. This place had Nice seating, indoor and outdoor, the outdoor was so nice because it's adjacent to the city wall.
They have a big menu with lots of authentic items . The service was great!
It's a must go...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for a large group. Gluten Sensitive possible.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

No complaints. I would rate it between average and very good. The portions were generous and there was plenty of space for large groups. Meals were good, although not the best I have had in Jerusalem. I found it slightly overpriced. It was possible to select something from the menu that was gluten free; although, as ever, someone with celiac would probably need to worry about contamination. Our celiac family member had no adverse affects. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would go back, but probably as a second choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We found this Place through tripadvisor and since we stayed nearby we tried it. Food was very good and staff friendly. The courtyard was nice to sit in, without the sun shields it would have been perfect.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Polite, efficient, pleasant - note it is #18, not 26”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

You enter it from the alley without expecting its size - nice surprise to see the spacious place.
If the weather is good the outside tables in the large backyard are a treat.
the food is served fast, with good service, and it is tasty. Nothing special, just a typical middle-eastern food, but fresh.
nice place to take a rest after some walking in the old city of Jerusalem,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moratderech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nafoura also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing