We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best middle eastern food in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nafoura

Nafoura
Ranked #35 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Nafoura Restaurant is located inside the old city's Jaffa Gate adjacent to the old old city wall and in the heart of trh christian Quarter,Nafoura sprawls gracefully over almost quarter acre of dining areas with archaeological columns ,gardens and fountains. The concept behind the Nafoura Restaurant is to provide a tranquil haven for visitors of the Old City away from the noise and the bustle of the bazaars.Opened all week except sundays. Barbecue night every thursday for special meats ,chickens ,and fish .From six till ten (summer time only)
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best middle eastern food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were in the old city of Jerusalem , we looked for a place to eat and found the Nafoura restaurant near Jaffa gate. This place had Nice seating, indoor and outdoor, the outdoor was so nice because it's adjacent to the city wall.
They have a big menu with lots of authentic items . The service was great!
It's a must go...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    81
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for a large group. Gluten Sensitive possible.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

No complaints. I would rate it between average and very good. The portions were generous and there was plenty of space for large groups. Meals were good, although not the best I have had in Jerusalem. I found it slightly overpriced. It was possible to select something from the menu that was gluten free; although, as ever, someone with celiac would probably need to worry about contamination. Our celiac family member had no adverse affects. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would go back, but probably as a second choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We found this Place through tripadvisor and since we stayed nearby we tried it. Food was very good and staff friendly. The courtyard was nice to sit in, without the sun shields it would have been perfect.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Polite, efficient, pleasant - note it is #18, not 26”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

You enter it from the alley without expecting its size - nice surprise to see the spacious place.
If the weather is good the outside tables in the large backyard are a treat.
the food is served fast, with good service, and it is tasty. Nothing special, just a typical middle-eastern food, but fresh.
nice place to take a rest after some walking in the old city of Jerusalem,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moratderech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

what i can say about this place is really uniqe ,amazing court yard with flowers and fountain on the ramparts of the old city of jerusalem.we had a mezza for 4 people and each had a main cource ,me i had denis fish it was grilled just the way it should be and my friends ordered kebbabs and lamb shishlik it was so goog that nothing were left in the plates service is fast and atendable prices are resonable compaired to israel restaurants .if i ever come back to jerusalem for sure i will eat there again .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nafoura also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing