We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historical building in the heart of the holy land.”
Review of Jaffa Gate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaffa Gate Hostel
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful historical building in the heart of the holy land.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Amazing location. This family run hostel is friendly and the location couldn't be better. They say no alcohol but I had a few cans on the roof so as long as you don't advertise the fact you'll be ok. Renovations were under way when i was there. Also the building is very old and i banged my head a few times. The view from the rooftop is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardy_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    21
    12
    27
See reviews for
4
24
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Jaffa Gate hostel is in a great location ... and that's it.
The dorms and beds are filthy dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. There's next to zero security ie no staff after 10pm, no locks on dorm doors and no lockers so you have to keep your valuables on you. There's a ban on alcohol which is not publicised until you arrive at the reception desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked for 4 nights and paid up front to get a big discount. Silly us. The room looked cramped but okay at first. We went out and when we returned we could smell the damp. It wasn't obvious before as they had clearly been leaing the door open. This smell got worse as we could hardly leave the room door open while we were out. By the time we left, everything in my case smelt pretty bad.

The showers didn't seem as bad as some of the reviews have suggested but the kitchen was grimy.

The location was great but we got out as soon as we could and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked here for 3 nights because the location was what attracted us. When got the private room right across the upper floor common kitchen and we did not experience any disturbances because of this. Didn't really engage with the staff too much, but they were nice enough to check us in when we arrived shortly after they closed at 9PM.
The rooms were small with private bathrooms, TV and refrigerator. Décor and furniture is made up of mismatched and outdated pieces, but this again is a hostel and I did not expect much. The curtains didn't quite cover the windows which we had to pin back. The shower however was dirty and the water just got all over the place, but thank god for the handy floor squeegee they provide to mop things up.
I would rate this place as average, but the location really puts this place at an advantage. Many shopping promenades/markets and restaurants within walking distances.

Positives:
Working WiFin the TV common area.
Fantastic location
30 Shekel taxi ride from the Central Bus station.
Check out the free walking tour by Sandemans

Cons:
Dirty facilities

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I spent 8 nights, everything was wonderful, we were at room number 4, the vies are amazing.
the staff very helpful and friendly and the hostel is close to all the main places to visit, fantastic stay.
the have a kitchen you can use for free, nice terraces

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasodesidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Lonely Planet states that this guesthouse is 'clean but a little rough around the edges'!
Although on a budget, we paid a fairly high price; Our room was a box, dusty, random decor & furniture which must have been hand picked from a rubbish tip. Things were propped up by chunks of concrete. The bathroom and toilet ~ your feet were in the shower whilst sitting on the toilet and the only way to get to the sink to brush your teeth would be to sit on the toilet!
The headboard of the bed was almost in the toilet!! With a wonderful waft of sewage water....ewww.
The T.V in the room did not work at all.
We were kept awake by people screaming and shouting until early hours of the morning, apparently the neigbours as the hostel is amongst a residential area.
When we complained to the hostel reception they apologised and said that the neighbour has four children who drive her crazy, so we should understand......?!!
Better off sleeping on the street than in this place, was a dive that we forked out 250 shekels for!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad2nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I've slept in hostels around most of the world and this is one of the worst 3! The rooms, the bathroom and the beds are filthy. I was booked to stay 4 nights here but left after one - with unwelcome souvenirs of my stay... bed bug bites I had got overnight!
There's also a ban on alcohol at this place which is strictly enforced. They don't tell you about this on the website or any of the booking sites of course. So you can't even relax with a beer after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samt4ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
285 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 66 in Jerusalem
209 reviews
Check In Jerusalem
#1 of 66 in Jerusalem
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 66 in Jerusalem
355 reviews
Stay Inn
#3 of 66 in Jerusalem
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaffa Gate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaffa Gate Hostel

Property: Jaffa Gate Hostel
Address: Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem 19383, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jaffa Gate Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaffa Gate Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing