We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday night favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zuni

Zuni
Ranked #54 of 699 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Friday night favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel across the road (Harmony) made a reservation for dinner last night, and we're glad they did, as soon after 7pm it began filling up, and a queue started forming. We had a very pleasant meal at a reasonable price. The wine list was good, and the food was interesting and good. Servings are -like everywhere it seems in Israel -large, but do leave room for dessert. The hot chocolate cake and lemon tart were both delicious, as were the pumpkin tortellini that came with my salmon. Price for a shared appetiser, two mains, and two desserts, plus a bottle each of wine and water, was 500 NIS.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    160
    52
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1,282 reviews
927 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“Informal Menu and Atmosphere with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Especially busy and noisy on Sabbath Eve, as one of the few non-Kosher Jerusalem restaurants. Still, even then, good food, decent service, and reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Across the way from our hotel.
Service with a smile
Food had great flavor
A tad in the expensive side

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have eaten at Zuni on at least three occasions when visiting Jerusalem and every time we have found the staff helpful and courteous and the food has always been delicious...the menu offers a wide variety of dishes and cuisine with a good list of wines to accompany them. The location is good and the ambiance was exactly what we wanted for a relaxing dinner........will definitely eat there again next time I am in Jerusalem

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All in all, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Zuni was recommended to us by my cousin. We came to Zuni with high expectations.
The welcoming faces of the staff who sat us to a table and the fun manner our order was taken was misleading toward the hectic service to come.
We ordered a single dish of liver ravioli, two main courses of Entrecôte with herb-butter and a side dish of homemade fries and ZuniBurger with cheese topping and a side dish of mashed potatoes (promised to be dairy). Add to that a glass of wine and a beer, and we were all set.
After some time a waitress showed with our drinks. A good portion of good wine and a frozen glass with beer. So far, so good. She also placed two spoons, so we thought the first course is served. We sat there and at the corner of my eye I see a waitress nearing our table with two plates in her hand and about 3 steps away from us making a fast U-Turn and goes to another waitress.
They both came apologizing for forgetting the ravioli and asked if we'd like to have the ravioli.
I was hungry so we said that we will make it without it.
The plates were put in front of us and looked good. The steak was smeared with herbal butter and the hamburger was as asked, with pickles on the side and nothing else. Just meat and tomatoes. The mashed potatoes (Purée) came in a separate plate, as were the fries. I cut the first cut and the Entrecôte was almost as ordered, medium to the rear side. Loved it. The herb butter a bit too strong, but very nice. The fries were REALLY good. Homey as I like them (though a bit too salty, but some would love it that way). The Purée was not good. Running and tasteless. The hamburger came without the topping and the waitress took it, placed the cheese and returned the plate. That is not the way to do it…

All in all, the food (meat) was good. Too bad the service (and Purée) was so poor (but with LOTS of smiles!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRLPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Zuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing