We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel, but what a view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citadel Youth Hostel
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The reason I booked this hostel was because of what I read about the view from the rooftop terrace and it didn't disappoint. The rooms and aminities are basic but the hostel is very cosy and has a strangely relaxed atmosphere for the cramped spaces. The staff are very friendly and so were the other travellers. We stayed for 3 nights and it was definately worth compromising on a few comforts just for the incredible view over the Old Town of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: If you get a choice of room, avoid the very top room (10) if it's a little cold outside as the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAbdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 298 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was the worst one we stayed in whilst staying in Israel. The hostel itself was a nice building old and goes with the old city but....
The 'kitchen' if you want to call it that didn't have any utensils that was worth using as Jesus himself would of used. No microwave, no kettle, no non broken pots or pans, no knifes, no forks and no toaster.
The staff where terrible and rude, there was one member who was more happy to help but the rest horrible. The rooms where sooo cold but we could rent a heater for 20 shekels thanks for that! The toilet an shower combo was nice to have sitting on toilet and having a shower at same time! :/ not the best lay out and watch out you don't break your neck on the no banister stairs.
The area though was beautiful and couldn't be nicer the markets are so colourful and you must HAGGLE!!! Start really high in price and you just say your price and if they say no walk away they soon will change their price. Stay in area just not in this hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I booked this as part of my travels through Israel and it was such a great move.
the hostel is part of a cave which has been here for 700+ years, and has been extended upwards with proper housing.
the location is fantastic for exploring the city and is only minutes from the Jaffa Gates leading out of the old town and into the 'new' city.

the hostel is rather large and is situated over several floors, the top also having fantastic panorama's over the city and its famous sites.

I stayed here for 3 nights and wish i could stay more, however I am restricted by time frame and thus I need to move on but needless to say, If I am ever in the middle east again I will be stoppping by this hostel.

the only little gripe I had with the hostel is its very poor internet connection, there is none in the rooms which the hostel explained, but even in the 3-4 lounge areas the signal was so slow and poor I often went out to get a stable connection, this was not really a problem but I still needed to work, end of day!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geordie8t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only stayed one night, checked in late and left early in the morning so i can't say much, except that it served its purpose; bed and showers. Showers could have been cleaner and rooms better ventilated, but still, if it's just to crash for the night, it works.

On hindsight, I should have just paid for a mat and a sleeping spot on the roof; it was summer when I was there, so it would have been perfect for sleeping outside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is a fantastic base to visit the Old City from - just inside the Old City gates it is right off a main alley and I think it's definitely a good budget option - it is very cheap. It is certainly not luxurious - honestly the bathrooms are fairly awful - nowhere to hang clothes or towels when in the bathroom - sopping wet floors, toilet paper that was drenched. This could just been because I was there at a busy period but i'm not sure. It didn't bother me a lot - the beds were perfectly comfortable and the management was very friendly and helpful. The cave type walls give the hostel a weird but cool sort of atmosphere (although it's pretty squishy in the passageways!) and WIFI doesn't like working above the third floor.... - it's also a good place to meet other travellers.

I know there are much nicer hostels around but I quite enjoyed my time here considering how cheap it was. I'd happily stay there again

Room Tip: Lots of stairs - stay on a lower level - not as much climbing, away from the kitchen and near the WI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravendq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a double private room w shared bathrooms. room #4 was quite roomy, but cold as the hostel is partially cut into rock (and we had no heater). Our room was just around from reception and noisy: i woken by people dragging their wheels bags down every step when leaving early morning, hearing whole Skype conversations (can only get wifi in lobby) and flushing toilets.

The downstairs showers only had cold water (brrrr! Tried 4 times, always cold) and were in the same room as the toilets. Luckily a girl pointed me in the direction of the upstairs showers w hot water.

We were right inside Jaffa Gate, so a good location but next time I will look to stay outside the old city for a sweeter smelling and less cramped place.

Guess you get what you pay for with space at a premium in Jerusalem.

Special mention to the reception team who were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jjessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed one night in a dorm room. There are about 4 too many beds crammed into the room. The bedding on all the beds was pretty gross looking (all bedding was discolored, my bed had white mystery crust on the sheets - I'm not kidding).

There were also these strange rags and towels spread all over the floor that seemed to be there for some reason, although I couldn't figure out what.

The room had a special, impossible to ignore stench to it too that stuck in your nostrils all day. I would have loved to open a door or window to get some fresh air in the room but there's a big sign on the door warning you not to do that or in order to "keep the cats out."

No towels provided. Bathrooms were a bit smelly as well.

There's this cool hang-out basement downstairs but it was too cold for anyone to actually hang out in.

The location is good (3 minute walk from Jaffa gate).

The building itself IS cool too - and the view from the terrace is one of the best in the city. Then again, there were only two chairs on a bi-level terrace and not too many places to sit so it really wasn't that enjoyable.

It's one of the cheapest places to stay in the Old City but it's still not THAT cheap - dorms are overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 71 in Jerusalem
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Jerusalem Hostel
#9 of 71 in Jerusalem
377 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
265 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#38 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Youth Hostel

Address: St. Marks 20 | Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $25 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Citadel Youth Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing