We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but weigh this up w cleanliness and warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citadel Youth Hostel
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location, but weigh this up w cleanliness and warmth”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a double private room w shared bathrooms. room #4 was quite roomy, but cold as the hostel is partially cut into rock (and we had no heater). Our room was just around from reception and noisy: i woken by people dragging their wheels bags down every step when leaving early morning, hearing whole Skype conversations (can only get wifi in lobby) and flushing toilets.

The downstairs showers only had cold water (brrrr! Tried 4 times, always cold) and were in the same room as the toilets. Luckily a girl pointed me in the direction of the upstairs showers w hot water.

We were right inside Jaffa Gate, so a good location but next time I will look to stay outside the old city for a sweeter smelling and less cramped place.

Guess you get what you pay for with space at a premium in Jerusalem.

Special mention to the reception team who were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jjessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    65
    41
    36
See reviews for
10
74
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed one night in a dorm room. There are about 4 too many beds crammed into the room. The bedding on all the beds was pretty gross looking (all bedding was discolored, my bed had white mystery crust on the sheets - I'm not kidding).

There were also these strange rags and towels spread all over the floor that seemed to be there for some reason, although I couldn't figure out what.

The room had a special, impossible to ignore stench to it too that stuck in your nostrils all day. I would have loved to open a door or window to get some fresh air in the room but there's a big sign on the door warning you not to do that or in order to "keep the cats out."

No towels provided. Bathrooms were a bit smelly as well.

There's this cool hang-out basement downstairs but it was too cold for anyone to actually hang out in.

The location is good (3 minute walk from Jaffa gate).

The building itself IS cool too - and the view from the terrace is one of the best in the city. Then again, there were only two chairs on a bi-level terrace and not too many places to sit so it really wasn't that enjoyable.

It's one of the cheapest places to stay in the Old City but it's still not THAT cheap - dorms are overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Right in the old town therefore you have enough time to get a descent sleep and not traveling a lot, you can find yourself in a nice thematic building and it makes you feel really nice on the other hand we had double room and it was a bit dark inside. Overall nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaggieMcCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A beautiful, very clean and comfortable place with a perfect and attentive staff Great quality and value right in the city center close to attractions and night life, I think Hostel in ramallah has ruined other hostels for me for life. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the beds were super comfortable, bathrooms were impeccably clean, the atmosphere was great, and bobo's dinner was fantastic - both for the food and opportunity to meet people. It was basically like staying in a nice hotel, or your own home. I would recommend to everyone, but especially long term solo travelers. that is a great hostel go on guys and good luck on your new project for the terrace sky lounge. tim and sandra

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timsandra104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place has a fantastic location, a few min walk from Jaffa Gate and right in the middle of the Old City Armenian Quarter. There's also an amazing falafel cafe a few steps away - 10 NIS for a really awesome falafel pita. The atmosphere is really cool and the common areas and kitchen are good. Beautiful views from the terrace up the top.

I stayed in the female dorm first night and it was stifling hot and stuffy. The next three nights I stayed in the mixed dorm and it was freezing - I wore a full set of thermals and an extra blanket and was still shivering. The beds are also atrocious from a noise point of view. The mattresses are covered in plastic so every time anyone moved it woke me up, even with earplugs. Cleanliness wise I wouldn't rate this place in terms of the bathrooms in particular, it's not disgusting but definitely not what I would call clean. The beds and sheets were clean though. No wifi in rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a top bunk and a warm room if its in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

So firstly we should be clear that this is a budget hostel in a 500 year old building in the OLD city of Jerusalem. Whinging about tiny windows or small rooms is a little unfair. I stayed in the private basic single room which is effectively a large cupboard with a bed in it, old uncut stone walls and a small fan....my first impression upon walking into the room were not the best and then I remembered where I was, smiled and declared my cave, home for the night! The bed was not uncomfortable, even if the room was a little Spartan.

The staff here are mega friendly, they make you feel at home and deal with issues swiftly. The common areas feel authentic and relaxing and the roof offers amazing views! There was a lot of people booked in to sleep on the roof and it did look a little crowded later in the evening but if we're honest you paid to sleep on a roof....why expect 5*? The kitchen is quite small and basic but there is enough equipment there to prepare a meal!

Overall I loved this hostel, if you're looking for lots of facilities and luxuary stop being a tightarse and book yourself a hotel or upmarket hostel if you're a budget traveller or looking for the adventure of sleeping within those old walls this is the place for you! I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callum_Mac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

after a long travel in israel and jordan we find citadel hostel as the finest in character and atmosphere staff was friendly and well informative it is one of the cheapest better options in jerusalem as we have stayed in few other hostels in jerusalem, we highly recommend staying in the oldcity if you are in jerusalem its much cheaper than the new city as after 5 days we stayed in the new city half our money was evaporated then we found the citadel hostel in old city and for the next 9 days we didnt spend as much as in the first 5 days the guys at hostel give you tips and places to buy things at local prices we really love the view from the roof just amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
291 reviews
The Sephardic House
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
138 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,133 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,497 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 67 in Jerusalem
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Youth Hostel

Property: Citadel Youth Hostel
Address: St. Marks 20 | Jaffa Gate, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Citadel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Youth Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing