We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven't stayed in the hotel but the restaurant is good”
Review of Legacy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had never stayed in the hotel, but i tried the restaurant in the upper floor. Really delicious food specially the Salmon. The view is nice from the restaurant.The Hotel location is really in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LKhamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed for 3 days on Legacy Hotel. I chose this hotel because of the reviews and Location. And in this aspects I was not disappointed.It is perfectly located to the Old city. Rooms are on the medium size but have tea-coffee facilities and a small fridge. The complimentary fruit basket and water was a really nice touch.Very comfortable and a great Breakfast Buffet.
The staff is very helpful and Friendly
But also I was decided by the fact that they offer gym and swimming pool facilities and this was a bit on the dissapointment side.The Gym and Swimming-pool (17m) belong to the YMCA and premises are shared with the Hotel. The hours and services are operated by the YMCA so do not expect "hotel standards". Hours are very restricted and the use of the swimming pooI is differenciated and separated by sex: male/female at different times. Also the hours are quite extreme (ie: 6:30-7:45 am or then 18-21h for men). I had some issues regarding this but it was dealt effectively by the manager Samer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Legacy Hotel in Jerusalem. It is close to the Damascus Gate of the Old City. We enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts were good - lots of choices. Restaurant staff helpful.
Business centre good - always open. Free wi-fi - excellent.
When we asked for an iron, ironing board and blow dryer it was delivered to the room straight away.

A few suggestions for improvement:
More English TV channels. Movie channel often faulty due to wind- apparently this affected the reception.
Water not very hot and shower water pressure poor and fine spray only.
Concierge didn't have correct information on visiting Dome on the Rock and other tourist info.
Carpet needed upgrading in room 401.
Newer hotel around the corner had better rates.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A very comfortable hotel, extremely helpful staff. A great restaurant. Clean, well appointed room. Suggest asking for the balcony rooms. A short walk to the Damascus gate of the old city and nicely located for the city centre aswell. Comfortably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel price is fair. The standard room is small but really clean and quiet. Early check-in is allowed as long as there is an available room. I booked for a deluxe room but was given the standard because it is the only available during my early check in but is ok. Tea and coffee facilities and toiletries are available. The staffs are accommodating. The breakfast is good. The location is like 7 to 10 minutes walk to the damascus gate of the old city. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gathz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the value for the price we paid. When looking for for hotels in West Jerusalem, I found the hotel prices, frankly, outrageously high even for the hotels/rooms which were nothing special. I booked the Legacy on the otel.com website which worked really well for us.

The triple room was sufficient for size although the bathroom was quite small. The room was furnished really well with excellent comfortable beds and good quality bed linen. There was free wi-fi in the room. Liked that the floor was wooden, not carpeted. However, the room was not cleaned well: bathroom was not touched by the cleaner at all one day, the floors were not mopped/even dusted and by the end of our five-day stay dust was all over the room. The complimentary water bottles were not replaced. There was no information about the hotel and its facilities provided in the room and the hotel's website was out of date too. The hair dryer was ancient and sounded like a power generator.

Another good thing was the restaurant on the top floor where we had breakfast - it had great views. The breakfast selection was good and the popular foods were replaced frequently and were fresh. Beware of the bread rolls. I don't know how frequently these were replaced but on our last day the one I got was covered in mold. Yuck. The service was good at the beginning when the hotel was not full but suffered towards the end of our stay when it was difficult to get a waiter's attention to bring missing cutlery, tea or coffee.

We were fine with the hotel's location in East Jerusalem. Granted the immediate area is lacking in eating establishments/shops and run down but it is only a 7-minute walk to the Damascus Gate, and a 17-minute walk (according to Google maps) to Jaffa Street where we usually had our dinner. We did not feel unsafe or uncomfortable walking at any time, day or night.

Room Tip: If you want a better view ask for a room on the top floor. Also, balcony rooms have better views IMO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel. Rooms are spacious enough and perfectly clean, with plenty of towels, toiletries and coffee/tea provided and replenished regularly. There is a good restaurant on the fifth floor where you can have dinner. Breakfast was in the form of a lavish buffet with a lot of variety so that we were not bored by it, even at the end of an 11 day stay. You will appreciate the very comfortable beds after long days of sightseeing. Overall, it was a really good stay.
Its East Jerusalem location suited us perfectly: a mere ten minute walk from Damascus gate and the Old City; two bus stations even closer with transport links to the West Bank; a light railway stop for access to other parts of Jerusalem (East and West). For straightforward shopping, do check out St George's Market, a little shop just down the road and go to the Educational Bookstore close by, many would say its the best bookshop in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edithandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#47 of 102 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 102 in Jerusalem
233 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 102 in Jerusalem
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 102 in Jerusalem
127 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#41 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,143 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#73 of 102 in Jerusalem
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel

Address: 2 Derekh Shkhem, Jerusalem 9720050, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#35 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legacy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing