We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, fantastic location. Not much else good to say.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jerusalem Hostel
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The location is great in the city center just a short walk from the old city. It was certainly budget. Staff was generally unavailable and not terribly helpful. Rooms were shabby with limited linens. Warm water only available during select times(not until 07:00 am!). Breakfast was a joke-- basically a loaf of bread you toast yourself in a chaotic and tiny communal kitchen. We had no place to sit and had to clean our own dishes, and it wasn't available until 8:15! The communal areas left much to be desired. Very small! But it served our purposes fine because of price and location. All in all, I've stayed in much nicer hostels but it works.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursebecky1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your time writing a review for us. I would like to inform you of a few changes that will make your stay with us more enjoyable if you will come and stay with us again:) -
1. Breakfast has been upgraded - it now includes coffee, tea, bread, butter, jam, peanut butter, chocolate spread, dates spread, cheese, humus and olives. We also provide our guests with a valuable discount voucher for enjoying a full breakfast in a lovely coffeehouse just a minute a way from the hostel (this coffee house's breakfast was chosen by lonely planet to be one of the 10 best breakfast in the world), and our breakfast's volunteer will be happy to cook eggs for you or make a fresh juice for a small amount of money.
2. breakfast today is served no later than 8:00 AM, and most days our early waker volunteer (Keith) serves it already at 7:30 am.
3. Our hostel is located in an historic building, that was the first hotel in Jerusalem. Although there are hot water 24 hours a day, there are pumps that deliver the hot water to the rooms, which work from 8:00 to 12:00 pm and then from 16:00 to midnight. Even though, if you will turn on the tap and wait, you will get hot water 24 hours a day. And if you don't wish to wait, we have shared shower located next to the boilers where you can enjoy 24 hours quick hot water coming. you just need to come and ask the receptionist where it is and we will be happy to help you.

We will be happy to see you again in the future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hostel is located in a prime spot 10 minute walk from the old city , 10 minutes from Muchanai Yehuda Market, opposite King George Street, and Nachlat Sheva. Shopping tourism and food and coffee seconds away. Take a room not a dorm if quality sleep is important because of the snores and bunk bed tremors. There is a kitchen. Breakfast is coffee and a couple cookies. The showers aren't very good but adequate. There can be a lot of noise at night from the main street (pedestrians) and from the taxi stand adjacent. Ear plugs are advisable. Internet and free computers. Great staff. Despite the minuses, we love this place and come back time after time. I recommend it

Room Tip: The porches are fun to sit on , have a drink , and watch the pedestrians
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyPerlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

clean and comfortable rooms. I will definitely stay here again! The price is better than my previous hotel room in an adjacent district in Jerusalem. This hostel has it all- location, great rooms, great price- it can't be beat! The staff is very helpful and informative and accommodating. Cute cafes are nearby which is a bonus! The experience overall was the best and its because we had a place at the Jerusalem Hostel! I would absolutely recommend the Jerusalem Hostel to others!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed here for a week while visiting my friend, it was clean, friendly and perfectly situated for exploring the local area. The staff were always very helpful and it is a place that i would use again should i return to Israel. Thanks for a memorable stay guys.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here with friends and we had a great big room with an awesome balcony. totally beautiful, with everything very close by and easy to navigate your way around. the staff were really lovely and helpful but there needs to be some handyman work around the place. we had smoke in our room because a electric cable had blown, the shower wasnt heaps clean and the shower head was rusty and didnt make you feel like you were being cleaned with clean water. the kettle in the kitchen was broken along with the stove, so thinking about dinner was always annoying. And Im not confident they wash their sheets after each stay...let alone every day. so there was this dirty feeling throughout my stay, but location wise its perfect and the building has a historical feeling to it. I dont think Id go back simply cause of the dirty feeling but the staff were lovely and its very central.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancakes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I would stay here again next time I came to Jerusalem, staff was very helpful and friendly and it had a good safe atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsaacH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in early July. We really liked it. It was 280NIS/night for a double room. Had decent A/C (without individual control), free wifi (but not in our room), a balcony in the room and a really nice roof deck. There is nothing fancy or luxurious about the place but it has all you need for less than half the cost of a regular hotel. Most of all it is in the perfect location to visit Jerusalem.

I have more details in my blog: http://www.extrapoints.us/jerusalem-hostel/

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave-from-Boston-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
696 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
411 reviews
Yemin Moshe
The King David
The King David
#13 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jerusalem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $22 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing