We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jerusalem Hostel
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Jerusalem Hostel is located in the heart of Jerusalem - at the city center that is just coming out of its shrouds after six years of construction on the new Jerusalem city rail.
The Hotel is a great location, friendly atmosphere, clean rooms and a much better deal that the Old City Hostels. You cannot beat it for location and for the price.

Room Tip: Ask about the double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 377 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Excellent location and great atmosphere. Large and. Clean rooms. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I really liked Jerusalem Hostel. It`s located close to the old city, very friendly staff, great athmosphere. The rooms are cleaned every day, you can use the kitchen . I can recommend this hostel to everyone travelling through Jerusalem, who is looking for a basic, simple, yet very friendly and clean place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misskakao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

First, it's important to note that this hostel (like everywhere else in Jerusalem) will try to rip you off so be on your guard. Just because you were promised on the phone that the room will be a certain amount or have certain amenities (like a bathroom/shower) doesn't mean it will be there when you arrive.

But the hostel is in a great location and compared with the other hostels in the area it is a decent place to stay. Free Wifi in the lobby and free computers to use. Also, there is a kitchen area with a TV. There is also a TV in your room, which gets decent reception. The rooms can be dirty, and my sheets had bizarre stains on them. Also, it is pretty expensive, particularly for the single private rooms. But overall, most of the staff (particularly the Spanish-speaking staff) are friendly and helpful, there's laundry services for a fee and it is a decent place to stay if you're in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerUSA1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed here twice, in April 2007 (alone) and in January 2011 (with my husband and daughter). The hostel hasn't changed, it's still cozy, friendly, clean and relatively cheap. The location is great, it's within walking distance to the old city. The only thing I didn't like was that hot water is only available in the morning and in the evening, but they do it to keep their prices low. Oh, and we heard noises from outside at night, but if you stay in the very center, this is unavoidable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank typechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

This was one of the worst experiences of my entire life. The hostel is infested with bedbugs, the rooms smell of sewer gas, and the hostel is in one of the noisiest locations in all of Jerusalem. We were bit by bedbugs all over our bodies on our first night there and we were covered with large red welts for over a week. Stay here only if you already have bedbugs or a strange desire to experience them first hand.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RONJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2014

Hi,

so sorry to hear about this experience. We haven't had bed-bugs problem for almost 2 years now, and we check for them constantly, and do a thorough weekly check in all rooms & dormitory.
Bed bugs is a problem in all hostels and even 5 stars hotels all around the world, from the simple reason that other travelers might bring them to the hostel from a different place they stayed before, and there is no way to know that until after they are here. We have a special material that kills the bedbugs immediately if they appear, plus washing all pillows, mattresses, blankets, sheets, and offer our guests an alternative room. moreover - in case of bed bugs we offer the guests to wash all their cloths and bags for free, just to make sure that we get rid of all of them. But again, we haven't had this problem for a long time now, but in case it comes - we are well prepared to deal with it in the most convenient & helpful way to our guests:) Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future and experience a different thing from what you had...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The ideal location of this Hostel will make your experience to visit Israel unforgettable, walking distance to the Western Wall and others target sites of the religious enterprise. In the hostel you will find wonderful people; they are polyglots, diverse in the religious and political views, but above everything young. Hey! If you speak Spanish ask for Andres. All the men and women working in there will make you to feel at home, they will also give you the code to the underground Jerusalem! Exciting isn’t it? All the guys in the front desk are terrific!

I met people from all over the world, from the most different backgrounds and all with different budgets, from the students to the professionals who refuse to spend one minute of their time bored, when visiting The Holy City. I cannot way to book again in the coolest place in Jerusalem.
Carlos Adon

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlosadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Hillel 11
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
413 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 101 in Jerusalem
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,177 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#39 of 101 in Jerusalem
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jerusalem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $22 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing